Self-Publishing my First Book with Kindle

Tools, tips, and tricks used in publishing my first book

Doc EJR
6 min readApr 16, 2021
Photo by Jessica Lewis on Unsplash

I love creative projects.

I can spend hours putting a new project together or designing and redesigning something, but I had no idea where to begin when it came to publishing an instructional book. Luckily, there are a number of creators out there that have thrown themselves headfirst into the self-publishing world and provided us with recipes to follow. In this post, I break down the process I followed to publish my first book, Building Serverless Node.js Apps on AWS: A Brief Guide on Where to Start.

Content Creation

What the heck should I write about? I have written blog posts and countless engineering docs in the past, but I was completely lost as to how that would translate to a book. That’s when I bumped into Shaunta Grime’s Blog Your Own Book Challenge, where she outlines a strategy to write about a topic of your choosing and preparing the writing efforts from the month into a publishable manuscript. The challenge caters…

--

--