Amal Experiences

Eisha Sajid
3 min readJun 10, 2022

--

I had the best experience of my life at Amal Academy. I was an introvert before joining Amal Academy but Amal has taught me a lot of things. In the past three months, I have done activities that I had never done before. I met people from different areas of Pakistan. I made friends who speak different languages. I performed several fun activities while doing Project Work. Our facilitators, i.e. Ma’am Dania and Ma’am Saeeda helped us in every possible way in completing PWs, doing online courses, and working on megaprojects.

I remember in the second week of fellowship, we had an activity in our PW named “5 acts of kindness”. I enjoyed doing some acts of kindness with my family, friends, and fellows. I would like to reflect on an act of kindness that I did while I was going home. It was almost 35 degrees outside and we were waiting for our cab. There was a kid of age 12 selling popcorn in that heat. It was so hot, I looked around and found a person selling fresh plum juice. We were buying it for ourselves so I thought I should buy one for that kid too. I bought the juice and gave it to the kid but he refused to take it. I said, “Ap mere choty Bhai Jese hou, itni garmi me aap kaam kar rahy hou, Mene ye aap k liye Liya hai, please Issy le lain”. I cannot forget the smile on that face. He took the juice and thanked me. I felt like I had achieved something big. The billion-dollar smile of that kid made me happy and satisfied. I would like to share a picture that reflects that event.

Juice for Laborer Kid

This activity made me realize that our little efforts can bring big smiles. We should take care of those who need and deserve to be cared for. I would like to thank Amal Academy for keeping such lovely activities in our PW which can help us develop such nice habits of doing something good for anyone around us. But one thing that I learned is we should do these little acts without showing them off. I was feeling so embarrassed while taking the picture. But as I needed the picture for PW, that’s why I had to click it.

Some of the other nice and kind acts that I did for the people around me were making breakfast for my brother before waking him up, bringing the tea for friends in the evening from the mess of the hostel, serving the dinner to the family, going to our own house in hometown and spending time there in cleaning all by myself to take care of the lovely home which mom made for us with love, and helping aunt in doing some of the home chores.

All of these activities helped me to do these tasks habitually. I enjoyed doing these activities so much. Thank you Amal Academy for giving me the best learning opportunities so far. I will recommend this fellowship program to the people in my network.

#amalacademy #Amal #AmalCareerFellowship

--

--