the weekly

a look at what’s happening in my life right now

Elizabeth Webster
3 min readFeb 9, 2017

Currently Reading: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo — Stieg Larsson, The Day the Revolution Began — NT Wright

Currently Listening to: Night Driver – Busted, let there be light – Hillsong

What I’m grateful for this week…

Music

Last Friday night I got to see one of my favourite bands from when I was 18 live for the first time. I got to enjoy some great synth-pop, and the opening band weren’t too bad either.

After that, I went straight across to London Bridge to go to a church social involving karaoke, which really brings people together after a few drinks.

WhatsApp

Or just modern technology that allows me to connect with people I love over multiple oceans. It means that I can have a face-to-face conversation with my mum as I walk to work even though it’s 8pm for her and it’s 9am for me. Technology is great.

What I’m working on

At the moment I’m working on getting my head together to start being more productive at home. After a period in my life where I’ve had quite a lot of downtime, I’ve decided it’s time to start actually doing all the things that I spend so much time looking at Pinterest about.

  • Writing

Firstly, starting to write more regularly, as well as journaling every morning. You can’t get better at something if you don’t do it, so I’m aiming to start getting things on here twice a week, plus these weekly posts

  • Fitness

I feel like I’m on a constant journey of ‘trying to get back into shape’ (something I’m currently writing about), so I guess I’m trying to work on that. I bought a yoga mat over the weekend, so it’s time to start toning and getting my flexibility back.

  • Cleaning

I am so bad at actually cleaning properly, so that’s what I’m working on. Turns out it takes far less time than you think it does, and I always feel that much better once it’s done, so that’s what I’m working on.

Quote that’s sticking in my head

7 “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. 8 Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips;meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

  • Joshua 1:7–9

Coming next week: the Fitness Update

The question is, will I actually have done any exercise other than my walk to work next week, here’s hoping!

--

--

Elizabeth Webster

a mess of thoughts and crippling self-doubt from a 30-something Australian currently undergoing vicar training.