App Store Optimization: The Scam (Part 2)

Janus Brown
8 min readJun 16, 2024

--

TL;DR

As covered in Part 1, creating an effective App Store Optimization (ASO) platform is a complex, multifaceted process involving data collection, machine learning, user-friendly interfaces, and continuous updates. This article shares one deceptive practice — presented in chronological order — among several other reported ASO scams.

For more gut-wrenching stories, visit the site Potential App Optimization Scam to arm yourself with knowledge about how these crimes are rampant and run by skilled actors. Spread the word to help save others from being robbed online.

11 a.m. on a Random Sunday

A WhatsApp message arrives, soliciting interest in a job. The sender’s profile appears as an attractive woman, with a 214 area code. She thanks you for your reply and then asks for your name. This should be your first red flag. Real companies do not recruit over an app and should know your name in advance.

“We work for an international app promotion company Splexiaaso ASO where app developers publish their apps on the Spexiaaso ASO working platform and all we need to do is to help them optimize their apps with fire data traffic and ranking righteous order exposure to attract more users to download and use.”

“Before I tell you about the job, I need to ask you a few questions to get a better idea of your suitability for the job. “

“Don’t worry! I am your trainer and I will explain you step by step about this part time job. By the way are you a US citizen and do you have an SSN?”

12 p.m. noon on that Random Sunday

“So do you have time now to find out what this job entails?”

“Okay! Now let me give you a simple job description. Our remote work only takes 30 minutes a day to complete and will not delay your other work and life!”

She repeats: “We work for an international app promotion company Splexiaaso ASO where app developers publish their apps on the Spexiaaso ASO working platform and all we need to do is to help them optimize their apps with fire data traffic and ranking righteous order exposure to attract more users to download and use.”

“Our role is (data provider). Simply put, we are a real user. Data and traffic are uploaded on the workbench provided by the company, so we need to register a user account to start working.”

At this point, you might appreciate the level of scripting involved to create such a convincing story. Much of the narrative is believable, even if it raises some red flags. Here, you’re likely thinking it’s about app reviews — simple.

“By the way, do you have any relevant remote working experience?”

This consistent line of questioning adds to their credibility as a recruiter and trainer of a supposed global company.

When asked if this is legitimate work and if there are any upfront costs for app purchases, she replies: “You don’t have to worry about this. I have been working here for 9 months. My college teacher took me to this part-time job. My teacher conducted a thorough review of the optimization company’s legal documentations and business license. Of course, I also conducted relevant investigations. Investigation materials prove that the optimization company complies with relevant US laws. So please don’t worry!”

“There may be small costs to pay. However, you can (missing word) salaries and commissions on a daily withdraw.”

“More than 80,000 people are working in this job. This part-time job only requires 1 hour per day. Therefore, your current job will not be affected.”

“Okay! Do you understand what I have described so far? If that’s the case, I’ll tell you how much the job pays.”

And Bam!!

“Our salary is based on base salary + commission and we get paid every day.

Shared with me

2 p.m. on that Random Sunday

The instructor started training using images similar to what you would see in professional environments.

The instructor walked me through a demo of her training program, and I earned a few hundred dollars using her account. She gave me some money to start in my own user account. Objective was to complete 2 batches of 40 tasks.

She explained that there are single tasks and combo tasks, called “Lucky Orders.” Since I did not show enthusiasm about the high returns on these combo orders, which required adding money to finish, she repeatedly asked for my understanding of the concept.

She teaches you how to withdraw and deposit money.

How to log in to the platform:

Shared with me
Shared with me
Shared by me
Shared by me
Shared with me
Shared by me
Shared by me

How to log in to MetaMask platform:

  1. Install MetaMask: Download and install the MetaMask browser extension or mobile app from the official website or app store.
  2. Create a Wallet: Open MetaMask, click on “Get Started,” and choose “Create a Wallet.” Follow the prompts to create a secure password and backup your seed phrase.
  3. Secure Your Wallet: Store your seed phrase in a secure location. This phrase is crucial for recovering your wallet if you lose access.
  4. Log In: After setting up your wallet, log in using your password. You will see your account dashboard with options to send, receive, and manage cryptocurrencies.
  5. Moving money into and out of MetaMask …

… and it continued for 6 hours on that Random Synday until your first day’s salary was withdrawn.

These kind-souled scammers really put in the effort to build trust with you, even spending an entire day to establish rapport. I wish I had the courage to continue another day, but I knew by day three I would be losing everything. So, I quit the next day after finding online how similar scams have trapped thousands of people’s hard-earned dollars.

You are asked to put in money for those “Lucky Orders” because the commission is supposedly ten times that of a normal order. Once you start depositing your own money, you find yourself continuing to do so, enticed by increasingly larger accrued winnings. However, I’ve heard they won’t let you withdraw the money easily, using every excuse under the sun.

And maybe, just maybe, there is a different end game. But because I bailed out after the first day, that is something — good or bad — I will never find out.

I end here by asking readers to be cautious if you are approached the same way — drop out immediately.

--

--