Spirituality in Entrepreneurship: Prologue

Elaine Siu
4 min readMay 6, 2018

April. Big Sur, California. A week of judgment detox.

I retreated from the wet and chilly Seattle.

I retreated from all those people talking about go to market strategy, revenue model, pivoting, competition, getting funded, scaling, and exiting.

I retreated from judging and feeling judged for calling myself an entrepreneur.

What went wrong?

Once I surrender, the Universe finally has a chance to show me the way out.

First day at retreat, I met Messenger #1.

“When you’re surrounded by all those startup people they make it sound like it’s THE THING to do. They talk about making a difference, changing the world… but at the end they only care about the money and want Google to buy them out,” said the anesthesiologist working in Silicon Valley who took a course on entrepreneurship at Stanford, “I came from New York and at least those folks own up to their own shit.”

The Universe tried to get on my good side (so I would get over myself and start listening!) by showing me someone who completely agrees with my point of view.

--

--

Elaine Siu

Currently Managing Director of The Good Food Institute Asia-Pacific, writing as me in personal capacity: https://www.linkedin.com/in/elainehysiu/