0.5 … The Apology

Elayna Mae Darcy
2 min readMay 25, 2018

INDEPENDENT

0.5 … The Apology

When I was small, so many people
beyond my years promised me that,
when you’re older, you’ll understand.

There are still many things that I am
not yet grown enough to comprehend.
But there was one thing I knew,
and I’m so grateful that I said it,
before my mom’s life reached its end.

It was a late night, not unlike any other,
Wawa cappuchinos on a school night,
just me and my mother.

We talked about life
and things I don’t remember,
but on my mind,
something smoldered,
just a fading thought ember.
When did you stop loving him,
I asked with precision.

She paused,
I never did, but I made a decision.
It doesn’t matter than I love him,
I couldn’t let him hurt you

--

--

Elayna Mae Darcy

Storyteller. Star cluster of feels. INFP. Person of letters & strong with the force. STILL THE STARS is available now! 🌉🏳️‍🌈📚🏳️‍⚧️💛 she/they