Humans, and their appetite to win money as fast as they can

Ahmed
The Desktop
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2016

Today is a typical Wednesday, nothing interesting. But that is going to change in a way I couldn’t have imagined. At around 1 PM, I finished the shopping to prepare my lunch and goes to the nearest cashier in the market:

Me: “Hi”

Cashier: “Hi”

As he’s taking my articles one by one, he asked me:

Cashier: “Do you know what a digital currency means?”

Me: “Excuse me!”

Cashier: “Do you know what a digital currency means?” (Volume up a little bit)

Me: “Yeah. Which one in particular are you talking about?”

Cashier: “Bitcoin”

Me: “Yes, I know Bitcoin”

At this point, the conversation seemed awkward for me, it’s my first time that I got asked this type of questions from someone. But I thought that he wants information about Bitcoin or something and wants to ask people if they knew about it. And at this time he continued:

Cashier: “What do you know about Bitcoin?”

Me: “I think it’s founded in 2008 by a Japanese (at least the name is Japanese) who’s identity isn’t discovered yet”

Cashier: “In fact it’s founded in 2009 and they’ve found the guy. Do you know how much a bitcoin is worth now and back then?”

Even if the identity of the creator isn’t discovered yet, I chose to continue the conversation and avoid a whole debate…

Me: “Well, now it’s around 700$ or so. I have no idea how it was back then…”

Cashier: “It was 1$ dude. Do you know how much money is there if you and I or anyone invested in it?”

Me: “Uh, well, it’s a lot of money”

Cashier: “If you have the opportunity now, will you invest in it?”

Me: “Uh, well, maybe”

Cashier: “Dude, do you have WhatsApp? Give me your number”

Well it’s my WhatsApp number now! (which is my phone number of course). So I asked him what’s for? And he replied that he want to send me some videos about a new promising bitcoin technology… I said OK, and give him my number. (Do I seem like a Venture Capitalist? I don’t know)

5 minutes later, he sent me 3 YouTube videos. They are in Arabic and they talk about a company called OneCoin, a company that’s going to revolutionize the Cryptocurrency… (blah blah blah). After seeing the website and some parts of the videos, it becomes clear that it’s another company using the Multi Level Marketing.

Next step was googling the name, nothing more, just the name. And I’ve got a nice looking result page full of scam articles.

After I said to him that this is a scam and sent him the articles, he sent me this:

So according to this image, this ONECoin thingy is the second on market capitalization.

Okey so next thing is to search for this xcoinx.com. At first glance there is too much COMING SOON which is fishy. Turned to Google for the second time and search for xcoinx.

As I expected, xcoinx is created by ONECoin to make their cause looks real and to push more people to “invest” in their model.

I explained what I found to him and advised him to stay away from this before he lose all his money on this ONECoin.

I don’t know if he’s convinced or not, but I did my job.

Then just after that, I asked myself: Do people still believe in this things? The type of business that will make you rich overnight? Something that all people couldn’t see it, but somehow you are the chosen one, and you’ll be the next millionaire? I thought that it was simple to see the glitch in this, but I was wrong, totally wrong. Lesson learned!

As a conclusion, I want to say that the formula for this is simple: there is no overnight success and there is no tips & tricks to win fast money. It’s that simple! You should work, work, work…

Thank you for reading this article. If you feel it’s worth sharing or recommending, please feel free to do so, I’ll be thankful.

--

--

Ahmed
The Desktop

I write. Code. And make food magically disappear.