My younger self from 2022 wouldn’t believe this

Eleonora Catalano
2 min readDec 24, 2023

--

An end-of-year self-development review

If someone at the end of 2022 came to me and predicted everything that happened this year, I wouldn’t believe them.

Change is always positive

I left Australia. I wasn’t ready for it and I wasn’t sure if I was doing the right thing. It took me almost 10 months to get my work visa to Saudi Arabia and not without lots of frustration.

I moved to Saudi by myself leaving my partner behind, hoping he would join me later. He eventually moved to Italy instead – still closer than Australia…

I started a new job in the most diverse and dynamic workplace I could ever imagine. I tried to learn Arabic.

I rediscovered my interest in engineering and learned so much but, regrettably, left my music project behind.

I met incredible people from all over the world, I visited 6 new countries in 6 months, and I travelled to Uluru!

I went through the worst time of my 5 years long relationship, only to realise it was probably the most needed time.

I went snorkeling in the Red Sea, exploring the desert, and I did a safety course on how to work at heights, overcoming one of my biggest fears.

I travelled across countries just to meet some good old friends, had the best time, but also gastroenteritis.

I went to a gypsy jazz guitar retreat, I started going to the gym, and I did my own swimming record. My new music EP was launched on Spotify!

Last but not least, I had ear surgery and I’m still recovering but here I am, and if I hadn’t been so persistent a year ago, I wouldn’t be able to share all this now.

The advice I would give to my younger self

I tend to control things, but there are many things we cannot control.

Thinking back at one year ago, I could have enjoyed more lots of moments, especially time with family and friends, but I didn’t. I was too focused on things that weren’t going right instead of looking at all the things that were going on around me. Life was still flowing, and I was missing out.

Embrace change and don’t force anything, things will happen independently of your frustration, so you might as well enjoy it.

--

--

Eleonora Catalano

Wind engineer, musician, evolutionary coach, traveller - rediscovering my inner passion for writing