A peaceful place šŸŒ¾

Eleonora
3 min readOct 8, 2019

--

Yesterday morning I had a traditional Korean breakfast at the hanok guesthouse. It was so delicious that, even if Iā€™m not used to that kind of food for breakfast, and even if I tend to eat way less, I couldnā€™t stop myself from eating everything. šŸ˜‚

While I was eating,Ā IĀ hadĀ aĀ briefĀ conversationĀ witheĀ hostĀ inĀ Korean. I canā€™t speak Korean well, but somehow we managed to communicate, and her daughter could also speak English. Since I told her about my interest in Korean culture,Ā sheĀ gaveĀ meĀ aĀ specialĀ present. I was so moved by her kindness!!And she even took me to the bus terminal since it was raining heavily. šŸ˜­ā¤ļø

I decided to visit Yangdong Folk Village, which is about an hour by bus from Gyeongju. The village is such a quiet place, in the middle of the countryside, and there are still people living in those old traditional houses. I found it truly fascinating and I was happy to spend some time in such a peaceful place. šŸŒ¾

After that, I could have gone to Bulguksa temple, but the time was a bit tight because it takes about 1 hour from Gyeongju (and thus 2 hours from Yangdong village) to get there. So I decided to go back to Gyeongju, walk aroundĀ theĀ city, and check if there was still something new to explore.

After wandering around the countryside, I decided to go back to the hanok guesthouse to charge my phone. Unfortunately, I didnā€™t bring any present from Italy (big mistake), but I did have a pretty postcard from Bologna, so I wrote a message for the host (in my bad Korean) to thank her for her kindness. Since Iā€™m traveling all alone, she decided to hang out with me for an hour. She brought her cute dog and her friend, and showed me some nice spots in Gyeongju. She also took a lot of photos of me. šŸ˜

I had such a good time in Gyeongju and the host of Siuwadang (ģ‹œģš°ģ™€ė‹¹) and her daughter were so kind to me. I truly recommend their hanok guesthouse, itā€™s such a beautiful and comfortable place. And I hope to go back soon!

After that, they helped me call a taxi to Singyeongju station, where I took the KTX train to Seoul. I arrived at the new apartment around 9 pm ~~ Seoul is such a different place, right? šŸ˜‚

--

--