A day in my life as an iOS developer

What do developers actually do?

Elena Caballero
6 min readMay 19, 2023
Title card saying: A day in my life as an iOS Developer. With an apple logo in the corner. Drawn by author.

I was chatting with a new friend recently about our jobs, and she asked me “do you code all day? I have no idea what a software developer does at all.” And well, it’s not the first time I get asked this question. There are people that I know that wonder what I do, especially my parents. Some other friends have been considering having a career pivot, and were also curious as to what I usually do in my workdays.

So this one is for them. And also I think it will be fun for me to look back at what I tend to do in this time of my life.

Do I actually code all day everyday?

Well, the answer is no, not at all. Working as an iOS developer, and as any software developer, does not mean you sit all day and write lines of code. It’s not like the movies and shows make it out to be.

And although if you look over my shoulder while I am coding it might seem like a lot of complicated nonsense, programming languages are very logical, and follow similar structures too.

But, I’m not really going to talk about coding and programming languages, I’ll just give you a glimpse to what I usually do on the daily. The title is a bit clickbaity though, as I might not do all the things I will write about in a…

--

--

Elena Caballero

Honduran living in Germany. iOS Engineer. Avid reader. Support me by buying me a coffee here: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/hzgxQTikjb!