Los Angeles in winter: first impressions

Elena Martensen
California Dreaming
4 min readDec 10, 2023
Santa Monica beach in December

This year we finally decided to take the plunge and go travel when it’s all gloomy and rainy out here in Seattle. The destination was obvious: gorgeous-attractive-sunny-warm-much-desired-full-of-life California.

Two years ago, just a few months after my son, Luke, was born, we had the same exact idea. Unfortunately, that year it didn’t come to fruition. We did actually book an airbnb and the flights, but gave up at the idea 10 days before the flight. The times were challenging (and that’s an understatement): newborn’s erratic sleep, our fatigue, anxiety about the travel with a tiny human being. I was in a dire need of rest, calm, stability, change for the better. That’s why we did decide to travel in the first place. Seattle can be very depressive in November with its never-ending cold rain. Add to that sleepless nights, and the state of fog caused by it; zero time for yourself; lack of adult communication. Uff, it was one of the hardest times in my life. I hoped that the sunshine and a change in scenery could help me get out of the blues. However, soon I realized how scary would it be to travel somewhere, when you have no control over your baby’s sleep and you barely know how they function. We lost all of our airbnb payment and flight fare. But at that point it felt right to just cancel it all, no matter how much we dreamt of the Californian sun and relaxation.

This time around I knew I was ready. Luke has grown enough, I felt like I had a much better handle on motherhood and toddler’s sleep, life became much more tolerable. And if not now, then when? (I’m about to have another baby in 4 months, so that’s our last chance!) I haven’t traveled for two years, please!

Los Angeles is beautiful. Its vegetation is so unusual and exotic. Even compared to Seattle, where after over five years, I still admire magnolias and occasional palm trees. The sun and the blue skies make everything look especially gorgeous. The brown hills of the Hollywood, and the gray higher tops are lower than the Pacific Northwest’s Cascades and Olympics, but still so special. The ocean is immense and majestic. You get a perfect sunset from the beach without any obstruction. The waves are so high and strong that they humble me enough not to dive into them. I always considered myself a good swimmer, and I did swim here in 2015, but now it’s colder and besides the waves just seem terrifying. Plus, I’m carrying a baby and I have another baby standing next to me, how would I dare to dig myself into them?

The people here are also unalike to other places. Some are very nice. Some are outright rude (nod at you lady at a cafe in Venice beach). A lot seem fit, with a sexy tan, and just more delicate features (or may be it’s just me who thinks that?). I wonder how did they make it work — leaving in such a beautiful place but at the same time so unaffordable to many? (We paid a hefty sum for our rental). That is not to say I don’t see poverty here. There’s plenty! Yesterday I saw a volunteer at the Venice beach distributing fruits, bars and water to the disadvantaged ones. It seems that they outnumber the Seattle homeless.

There are almost no crowds now. I remember it being overly busy in July of 2015. Now the place is, one could say, deserted. The beaches are still as beautiful and delightful as ever, but there’s almost no one enjoying them besides a couple of yogis stretching. The weekend seems to fill the place somewhat but far from what my summer memories hold. Today, on the Sunday morning walk, I saw people playing volleyball, some older ladies seemed so fit, I couldn’t believe it. I envied them that they could just meet up like that on the weekend and play outside in the sun next to a beautiful beach. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a volleyball fan, but I envy the possibility of it. Closer to the pier on Hermosa Beach kids were sleding down the sand dune. It was so funny: this what they do here for the lack of snow! My son wanted to join them, but we had no sled. Maybe next time?

In December we could negotiate down on our rental fees even though it was still abysmally expensive (in my opinion at least). Off-season has its big pluses (doubt there are any minuses!). There’s less traffic, less time to wait at various attractions, just overall easier to breathe. Weather is still terrific (at least compared to Seattle), even hot at times. So why not visit in winter, I ask you?

--

--

Elena Martensen
California Dreaming

A mother raising a sweet blond and cute curly toddler. Software engineer in the past. Lover of yoga and all things for relaxing your body and mind.