Mobile Me: “Dear Diary…” (Part 3.2)

elena kouki
4 min readJan 9, 2019

--

We live in a society where mobile phones have won a permanent place in our lives. Nowadays, they seem to have become a necessity for most people and especially for Millennials. Thus, it has been a very interesting task for us to explore the “relationship” that young people have with their mobile phones, in the framework of New Consuming Trends course of Panteion University, taught by our professor Mrs Betty Tsakarestou . During this course, our team participated on a research project called Mobile Me and You concerning mobile collaborative consumption and sharing economy that are now on the rise. My team specifically chose to focus our part of the research on the use of instant messaging apps.

The first step on our project was to observe how each one of us, individually, uses their phone and to present a Mobile Me story. As far as I am concerned, I spent a week keeping a diary of my mobile activity.

My phone and I have a really serious relationship. It’s the first thing I use when I woke up in the morning and the last thing i check before i go to sleep. I use my phone 3 hours per day more or less but it depends on the day. I start my day with the alarm clock app and after that I check my calls and my messages. As a millennial I have many social media as intstagram, Facebook, Facebook messenger, what’s app and viber.



My favourite app is Instagram because I really like to see photos. I upload content as a story or in my profile. I also love to content from other people, my friends and I general photos from all over the world. When it comes to Facebook I don’t use it anymore because I think its content is boring but I still have it for my friends that they don’t use Instagram.

Moreover Facebook messenger is my favorite app for instant messaging. It’s easy to use and all my friends have it. We exchange content as photos, videos, texts and voice messages. We also love memes and gifs. Viber and what’s app are the most useless to me. I have viber to communicate with some group chats with my basketball team and what’s app for friends from erasmus.



I use a lot my phone for college, mainly Facebook groups and group chats. I use sharing apps like Airbnb a lot but mainly when I travel. Although i prefer my laptop for things like that because I think I’m gonna make a mistake.

To sum up in general I can can say that my phone makes my life easier. It helps me keep in contact with my friends and family and with people that I can’t have face to face co tact. I feel really connected when I have despite the fact that sometimes disconnects me from reality.

If you found my Mobile Me project interesting you can continue to the rest of our research by reading the other articles of myself or the ones of my teammates Athena Styllou and Konstantina Nikolopoulou on the links below.

--

--