DALL·E 2: Editing Issue of generating realistic faces

Elenee Ch
3 min readJul 27, 2022

--

Generated by Dalle2

It wouldn’t be exaggerating to say that I’ve generated and tested lot of lenses since I was invited to test Dall-e 2. The idea behind this is to check whether i’s possible to use Dall-e 2 to generated photos for editorials, so I’ve been constantly checking and testing different styles and lenses to see if it’s possible to use Dall-e 2 as a substitute of licensed photos. While most of the time it left me speechless with the accuracy and overall delivery, there are some issues or let’s say some bugs that deserve some attention.

I’ve discovered this issue accidentally when I was trying to generate some editorials. The image above was generated by the system as an answer to the prompt: “A close up, black and white studio photographic portrait of an excited young woman blowing a kiss and sending a colored lips emoji towards the camera, dressed in 1970s fashion, dramatic lightning, 1973 photo from Life Magazine”. I’m not going to lie, it was pretty decent on the very first try but I wanted to use editing feature in order to add this little colorful emoji which I originally had in my mind. At the same time, I don’t want to waste my credits, so I try my best to describe the prompt in details, but here’s what happened.

According to Dall-e 2 policy, you won’t be able to upload realistic or faces of real people in order to prevent the deepfakes. I mean, it’s understandable, I don’t have anything against the statement, but what I am interested in is how does the system guess what is realistic and what’s not, and the fact that sometimes it’s not able to recognize its own generated variations. I tried to erase a larger area on the original, -3 credits and finally it has worked, but not quite the way I’ve wanted.

The image above shows the realistic photo taken with 50mm lens, if the system blocks uploading realistic photos in that case this one should have been filtered out as well, but instead…

I tried to address the issue on our discord channel with the developers, to check whether my prompt was flawed or if it was, what was wrong with it and how to prevent wasting credits on editing feature, if it doesn’t work properly yet. If I get some specific directions, I will definitely share them here, if not, I suggest you to avoid using editing feature on realistic portraits, or try to erase a slightly larger area for your edits.

--

--

Elenee Ch

Haya! 👋 Ene here! I’m spending my free time making illustrations, AI research and read about UX/UI.