Spirit of the Wild

YOU WANT IT ALL?

Gleenings from a Tree

eli
2 min readSep 12, 2023
Photo by Ina-Marie, Jonkershoek

Tree
its foot in the water
seems to have it all

ALL does not assure
it will flourish or grow
Pain and strain make for strong limbs
Resilience builds character
they say

Struck by life
Slapped by a Slapper
growth commences
on its remains. Until
the Slapper who slapped
becomes the Teacher who taught

Our planet, our Mother
swallows all the crap
Our meagre offering
she turns
into daily bread. And
carries the scars.

As do we.

Kahlil Gibran in The Prophet

Of the good in you, I can speak, but not of evil. For what is evil but good tortured by its own hunger and thirst?

Verily, when good is hungry, it seeks food even in dark caves, and when it thirsts it drinks even of dead waters.

I am eli

and I thank you, especially those who have recently joined my tribe.

Spirit of the Wild. Silent Greetings. Photo by sutirta budiman on Unsplash

SINCERE GRATITUDE TO:

Top 5 Recommendations

15165 stories
A copy of Wallace the brave sits on a desk among some seashells and pebbles.

--

--

eli

I am in the becoming... A Student of Life, Nature my Teacher. That's what I write about. Introvert, trying to speak in writing, always from behind my eyes