AI for Access: Using ChatGPT to Critique, Learn, and Grow

Elise Romero
5 min readSep 15, 2023

--

I’ve never understood why someone would want to cheat when it comes to writing. That’s not to say I haven’t had more than my fair share of late night, cursor-stand-off, blank pages with the stress of an impending due date; but even with all the pain it takes to write, I’ve never hoped for a shortcut from it. In my opinion, there’s nothing more exhilarating than a blank page that I solely dictate and direct. I’ve been privileged in an education that nurtured my love of written expression and books that molded my worldview and imagination, and it wasn’t often I felt insecure in my ability to access different forms of writing and mastery of style.

Then I took a law class.

I was absolutely in the dark about the technical methods, the structural expectations, language use, and more when facing my final assignment — to write an opinion of the court on a pending national case using a multitude of cases and persuasive reasoning skills akin to the Supreme Court. Even having read the opinions of the court throughout the semester, I still felt lost about how to organize the facts of the cases, my analysis, and my official opinion. So, I took to ChatGPT.

Personal screenshot from April 27, 2023. Shows my ChatGPT interaction where the question box asks, “how do I write a legal opinion like the supreme court” and ChatGPT’s response.

ChatGPT is an artificial intelligence (AI) chatbot trained on large language models (LLM) to respond in human-like ways to prompts. Created by OpenAI, the tech has sent people into a frenzy of positivity, outrage, and confusion — especially teachers[1], due to the multiplicity of ways the AI could be used by students and in their classrooms. When I used ChatGPT, I had already been in a cautious mindset; my fellow writing center coworker and I were in the early stages of research about the chatbot, and I’m studying to become an English Language Arts educator. Knowing the immense fears, both valid and inflated, around the use of ChatGPT as a writing tool, I felt like a scab to even have the AI in my browser history. But as I asked the software how to write a legal opinion, how to identify the legal issue, and how to write an analysis of legal authorities, I found that the software gave me immense clarity and a workable outline.

Now, had I taken that next worrying step into asking the software to write me an opinion on Counterman v. Colorado, I would have crossed a line. I think there’s a difference between using AI writing tools like ChatGPT as a soundboard and assistant to then using it as your source of writing. I would never advocate for any limitations on critical thinking in the writing process, and it’s important to understand how to express oneself. And while I know that there’s still fear about what the encouraged use of AI tools means, I’m excited about what it could do for accessibility to writers, especially young ones. Because ChatGPT doesn’t just help you outline a legal opinion, it can also help with word choice, writer’s block, grammar — all for free. Students who feel that same fear I had as I was faced with what felt like an impossible assignment won’t be in the dark alone. They could have the ability to confidently take on previously intimidating writing assignments because they guide the AI to give the results they seek, allowing them the agency to command an online program to assist their work.

Hilah Barbot, a senior product manager at Amazon Future Engineer, the tech company’s computer science education program for schools, led the voice A.I. workshop at Dearborn STEM. Credit…Sophie Park for The New York Times

I advocate for this, along with tech companies Google, Amazon, and Microsoft[2], because AI is now part of all of our futures, and ignoring it could lead to a disparity of understanding and a possible large impact on future job outcomes[3]. Tech companies have begun teaching programs that introduce students to programming for AI as well as leading conversations about ethical engagements regarding data privacy and academic integrity. If we ignore these conversations in favor of outright banning these tools, we only stand to put our students at a disadvantage. Digital literacy is an increasingly important skill that encompasses a person’s ability to critically engage with online materials; just as an understanding of Microsoft Office is useful, companies predict knowing how to use ChatGPT will set people ahead in the future job market.

Beyond the impact of AI on our futures, free tools like ChatGPT are accessible to any student with a device. While technology access is not guaranteed to all students, it’s exciting that aspects of tutoring can be provided. Sal Kahn, the creator of Kahn Academy, has launched Kahn Labs with an AI tool[4] that helps students outside of the classroom to receive more individual instruction. While I’m still partial to human tutors (given that I am one), a free tutoring resource can improve students’ understanding of the material and assist teachers in reaching their learning outcomes.

Additionally, engaging students with AI can help them understand systems of power as it relates to AI such as data discrimination and false information. Some educators have already created lesson plans[5] that involve students analyzing the results of ChatGPT outputs to see what is correct, what is misleading, and what is valuable from the results. Faux policy briefings have been held in Boston for students to think about creating an AI policy that protects people from facial recognition discrimination, prevention of data collection, and other potential harms[6]. Asking students to engage with the results they receive from chatbots beyond a face-value belief encourages students to think for themselves and conduct their own research, and encouraging students to think about the broader impact of AI integration into the world includes their thoughts in a realm of technology that will continue to mature as they do.

Marisa Shuman challenged her students at the Young Women’s Leadership School of the Bronx to examine the work created by a chatbot. Credit…Hiroko Masuike/The New York Times

If we encourage student collaboration with AI tools like ChatGPT, they can be advocates for themselves by helping to open doors where previously there was confusion and darkness, while also incorporating critical thinking into their interactions with AI. This is an evolving topic that still needs analysis and further research, so why not include the younger generation in that work? Tech policy and education policy will only continue to mesh, and it’s imperative that we encourage ethical, critical usage of these tools so that accessibility broadens for students.

[1] https://www.forbes.com/sites/rashishrivastava/2022/12/12/teachers-fear-chatgpt-will-make-cheating-easier-than-ever/?sh=3d2ef6031eef

[2] https://www.nytimes.com/2023/06/08/business/ai-literacy-schools-amazon-alexa.html

[3] https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2023-05-28/nvidia-ceo-says-those-without-ai-expertise-will-be-left-behind?embedded-checkout=true&leadSource=uverify%20wall#xj4y7vzkg

[4] https://blog.khanacademy.org/harnessing-ai-so-that-all-students-benefit-a-nonprofit-approach-for-equal-access/

[5] https://www.nytimes.com/2023/02/06/technology/chatgpt-schools-teachers-ai-ethics.html?action=click&module=RelatedLinks&pgtype=Article

[6] https://www.nytimes.com/2023/06/08/business/ai-literacy-schools-amazon-alexa.html

--

--