The overachieving spaz

Elizabeth Blooms
1 min readMay 18, 2020

--

Are you all or nothing too? Extremist? Black, white and there’s no in between

I overcommit or I crumble. I take on everything, why? FOMO. Fear of missing out. Damned if I do and damned if I don’t.

I’m so hard on myself that it drives me nuts.

Uni, full time work, volunteering, community rep.. where does it end. A new opportunity pops up and suddenly I think I can do that too.

End up a blithering spaz in the corner who can’t get up through the overwhelming cloud I’ve created myself.

I have to pause before committing. I have to really think.. ok Blooms, do you think volunteering for the RSPCA is a good idea if you don’t even like animals that much.

Pause, think. FOMO passes. Logic prevails, sometimes..

--

--

Elizabeth Blooms

Ultra cyclist, runner, writer, self-hater. Training for life, learning self love, sober ODAAT.