Learn, Iterate, Do: My Stakeholder Interview Resource List

Ella Nance
2 min readDec 21, 2017

--

I wrote a blog post called, “Learn, Iterate, Do: Writing My First Stakeholder Interview Guide.” In it, I reference a list of resources I used to help me create my interview guide. This post has that list.

These really helped me, and might help someone else, too.

Internet:

  1. The Back Up Question: Defining a Project’s ‘Good Enough’ ” by Jared Spool
  2. Stakeholder Interview ‘Frontloading’ ” by Kevin Hoffman
  3. Better Stakeholder Interviews” by Christopher Cashdollar
  4. UX Matters: “Conducting Successful Interviews With Project Stakeholders
  5. UX Apprentice: Stakeholder Interview Template
  6. Adrian Howard’s Collection of Resources: Books to Get Your Customer Interviewing Practice Up and Running
  7. Dan Brown: “The Delicate Art of Interviewing Stakeholders

Books

  1. Interviewing Users: How to Uncover Compelling Insights” by Steve Portigal
  2. Project Management for Humans: Helping People Get Things Done” by Brett Harned
  3. Practical Design Discovery” by Dan Brown
  4. Communicating Design: Developing Web Site Documentation for Design and Planning (2nd Edition)” by Dan Brown ** (used for the analysis, too)
  5. Just Enough Research” by Erika Hall** (used for the analysis, too)
  6. Content Strategy for the Web” by Kristina Halvorson & Melissa Rauch
  7. The Digital Crown: Winning at Content on the Web” by Ahava Leibtag
  8. Content Everywhere: Strategy and Structure for Future-Ready Content” by Sara Wachter-Boettcher

Are there other resources that helped you write a stakeholder interview guide and to conduct interviews? Leave a comment and let me know. I’d love to expand this list.

--

--

Ella Nance

User Experience Designer. Expert knot conqueror. Occasional salsa dancer. Observant. @CenterCentre Graduate, October 2018.