816: PS2 AI Image Filter

Elle Oh
2 min readApr 3, 2024

--

Oh man, if you’re like me and get all warm and fuzzy thinking about the PS2 days, you’ve got to check out this PS2 AI Image Filter I found (https://playground.com/face).

It’s like hopping into a gaming time machine! Seriously, I can take any pic with a face in it and give it that old-school polygon charm.

Makes me miss those hours I spent on my PS2 as a kid, and now I get to see what I’d look like right in those games. Total nostalgia trip!

But here’s the lowdown on the usage — it’s super user-friendly, which is awesome, but there’s a catch.

You sort of just toss your photo into the AI’s hands and let it do its thing. No tinkering, no ‘let’s try that again but tweak it a bit’ kind of deal.

You get what you get, which is neat in its own “surprise me” kind of way, but if you’re hoping to fiddle with settings and make it perfect, you might find it a bit rigid.

Still, it’s a kick to see the AI take the wheel and reinterpret a modern selfie into a PS2-style work of art. Worth a shot for a bit of fun, I’d say!

https://playground.com/face

--

--