CS373 Spring 2022: Elliot Sims

Elliot Sims
2 min readMar 7, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

Most of the week was spent working on school work. My group in this class was behind, so I spent a significant time trying to finish the project. My actual hours were double my estimated hours. After Phase 1, my group relaxed and set up to dive into Phase 2 before spring break. Outside of this class, I had an essay and some weekly homework.

What’s in your way?

Everyone has heard the phrase “start early” a million times, but it should be said again. Lack of starting early and poor group coordination made Phase 1 more trouble than it should have been. Thankfully, we were better towards the end of Phase 1, but it is definitely our biggest issue.

What will you do next week?

I plan to finish a good chunk or most of Phase 2 by spring break. Procrastination with group projects is a nightmare, and I know if we do not make significant headway before spring break, we are going to suffer greatly. The classic “I’ll do it over break” never happens.

What did you think of Paper #7: Liskov Substitution Principle?

I enjoyed this paper the most since it discussed more OOP concepts than the others. I also found it to be slightly more practical. Hopefully, I will remember all these principles in the future.

What was your experience of operators and iteration? (this question will vary, week to week)

I was familiar with both subjects before the lecture, although the python class operations were partially new to me. Also, I don’t use declared iterators too often, so learning more about them is always good.

What made you happy this week?

Finishing the first phase definitely made me happy. The last couple of weeks had been a mix of midterms, projects, and essays, so it felt like a weight off my back to get through the school grind weeks. Now, I don’t have any important deadlines until after spring break. Also, I have been playing the new FromSoftware game. It makes me both equally happy and enraged. It builds my mental.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I think it might have been recommended in a TA google doc or discussion post, but I also have to recommend it: Husky is a pretty cool tool. It lets you do pre-commit checks/scripts, so you don’t have to waste pipeline resources with bad code. Some pre-commit checks I would include would be simple testing and running a linter/code formatter.

--

--