CS373 Spring 2022: Elliot Sims

Elliot Sims
2 min readMay 2, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

I worked on the data visualizations and presentation for phase 4. We still have some work to do, but we are mostly finished for the semester with IDB. I also worked ahead on other class assignments in preparation for my finals week.

What’s in your way?

I have three projects, an essay, and a couple of midterms this coming week. Therefore, there is a lot of work that needs to be completed in a short time frame.

What will you do next week?

I will be working non-stop to finish all of my courses. In this class, I will help prepare for the presentation and fix some errors from the last phase.

What did you think of Paper #14: The New Methodology?

I think most of it was common sense. New tools have been invented since the paper was written that make software planning and design easier. Therefore, the new methodology is not as “new” in the contemporary world. However, I agree that “code and fix” is still extremely common.

What was your experience of refactoring.? (this question will vary, week to week)

I actually like refactoring code. It aligns with my personality to organize code to look cleaner and more flexible. I am sure many people also agree with this since no one truly wants messy code.

What made you happy this week?

Although the stress from the last stretch of due dates is building, I am happy the semester is almost done. I cannot wait for a reset and summer activities. The weather has recently been hot enough to actually go to the beach or lake without freezing in the water.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

OpenAI created a transformers architecture (really popular right now) called DALL-E. There are two versions, however, the newest one does not have open access. DALL-E is used to generate images from any text. Therefore, I could type “Kanye West with a black poodle”, and although this image might not exist, it could still generate a high-quality picture of it. Its capabilities are extremely interesting, and I recommend watching a short video over it. To apply it to SWE, it could be used to get non-existent images for web apps, but I think more importantly is the future of the transformers architecture.

--

--