📃 POETRY, PLEASE: SEASON 2

Double Homicide on Canal Street

No one saw it coming

Elliott Black
2 min readOct 28, 2023

--

Nazila Azimzada

Down below in Canal Street,
where concrete’s still sunlit,
at the bottom of the narrow
upside down trapezoid of dirt,

the two of them dragged him.
looking from above,
I saw the Haul
I saw it

all.

I call it
The Mute Urban Performance.

there were three of them.
they all seemed like quite good friends.
peculiar thing though, one of them
couldn’t move his legs.
I knew that their relationship
had changed that day,
perhaps, it seemed,
forever.

synchronized they dragged him,
the unfortunate one.
tight grips.
decisively.
but no matter how much I inspected
their motives still evaded me,
it all spoke to me
of a case undisclosed,
drowned in mystery.

--

--