Officially an FED

Elly Pham
1 min readNov 11, 2015

--

Two months ago I was an experienced Digital Marketer with 10 years under my belt. By the end of this week, you can officially call me a Digital Marketer/Front-End Developer. I’ve worked with development teams most of my career, planning campaigns, briefing in projects, developing timelines, briefing dev teams, providing feedback, QA, etc. Now, instead of managing projects, I’m actually creating them…really cool ones. In 2 months I learned HMTL, CSS, Responsive, Sass, JavaScript, jQuery, WordPress/PHP, API/AJAX, GitHub, Gulp, working on tight deadlines and working on group projects with other web developers. I now have the skills to go out and work as a full-time Front-end Developer, freelancer or grow in the digital marketing field, as it’s given me a solid understanding of all the backend work that goes into putting together websites, applications, landing pages, etc. Instead of saying “yeah, I worked on that website” (really meaning pushing the project along), I can say, “I built that with my hands!”. What an awesome feeling. I’ve enjoyed my time during this program, I’ve learned a lot from great HackerYou instructors and have made great new friends.

If you ask me, “is it possible to become a web developer in 2 months?”. The answer is “Heck Yes!”. If you’ve been thinking about it, take the leap. Don’t think, just do it!

--

--

Elly Pham

Jr. Engineer @Glossier, philanthropist, world traveller and extremist. Changing the world one smile at a time.