Poetry: INFJ in love

Ellysa Yi
2 min readDec 21, 2023

--

Image by Dmitry Zmiy on Unsplash

I’m someone who falls in love easily in the summer.

Someone who complains about the cold in the winter

yet fears the warm touch from another.

-

I love to fantasize about possibilities with a stranger

But run away when they become my reality.

-

I can’t differentiate love from obsession

Besides the fact that love keeps my seat warm

While obsession runs around looking for a new spot to sit.

-

I can fall in love with the same man twice

But never beyond that limit.

-

Cause falling in love means

To gamble

And being in debt means I can’t afford

Another heartbreak.

-

So I look for a new admirer

Who will charge me interest

Only after the first 12 months

Enough time to pay off the damage

from my last lover.

-

And people may say I’m single

Because I look too high

But I just brush it off saying

“It’s not my fault I like tall guys”.

-

I admire the unknown

Since it’s free

Like walking against the sand

Completely bare feet.

-

I see the world

By tracing my fingers

Against the lines of his palms

The calluses represent where I must rest

Into the arms of him who wishes for me to stay.

-

But let me go once

And I will unravel

Into thread

That you can sew into a new lover.

--

--