Sunken

Elmo McCarthy
1 min readJan 25, 2022

A Poem

Sunken Ship
Photo by Nadine Biezmienova from Pexels

May I have what I want?
It is possible for me
Or so they say
But as I get older by the hour
The frantic man inside screams louder
He wrecks my thoughts with a sledge
He slits the throats of my passions
He has an arsenal of terror
Enough ammo to scorch my dreams into dust
Enough air in his lungs to blow the ashes into the sea of hearts and flowers
The waves throb and crash on the banks of reflection
I should have built a bigger ship
I should have enlisted a wiser crew
I should have navigated more stealthily
Am I through?
Am I through?
Am I through?
As captain I’m in command
It’s time to hunt down this intruder
Pry open his chest
Expose the sludge of his pulse
Wrap him up in heavy chains
Toss him over like a coin in the wishing well
Never breaking our gaze until he’s asleep in the deep

--

--

Elmo McCarthy

Actor. Writer. Poet. Husband. Father. Allow. Accept. Include. Permit.