2019 Resolution Checkin — February

Erik Oliver
3 min readFeb 9, 2019

--

As I did last year, I’m publicly blogging about my resolution (Jan announcement). Recall that for 2019, I’ve picked a single word them: balance.

This makes things easier than 2018 where I started with about 8-resolutions and eventually evolved a complex dashboard. I just have to weigh one theme; however, it also makes it harder in the sense that deeper introspection is required.

January Specifics

I indicated that balance was meant to encapsulate the following areas:

  • Food and weight = balance means tracking and making the better choice for myself regularly ↠ Mixed results, while not traveling I did better (and even lost weight); however, the London work trip threw things off
  • Exercise = balance means making it fit in my day because I feel better when I do ↠ Success! I’m regularly doing the NYTimes 9-minute strength workout [Original; Cheat Sheet]
  • Friends and family = balance means taking the time for them↠ Success! Overall good.

I’ve also started using the “Streaks” app [iTunes Link] on my iPhone to improve my habits:

The goal is 3x Strength Workouts/week and that’s being met. For food it is to track my 3-main meals and ~400 calories/day of Apple Watch Activity. Paired with my existing obsession with the Apple Watch tracking, this is good:

Also, I’ve done a better job of scheduling games days and doing things with friends and family. Go me.

Relatedly, I’ve been using pairing (or bundling) technique to improve other basic things like flossing more regularly and taking my daily vitamin. Also inspired by Marie Kondo’s Netflix show, we did a good purge of accumulated stuff in the house.

So lots of good stuff…

…and Yet, I’m Struggling a Bit

And yet, I’m struggling. A week of business travel threw me off food tracking for that week and much of this week while I’ve tracked, I’ve been sloppier and more prone to overeating again.

Other stressors are adding up, no one horrible bad thing and in the broad spectrum of life, I have it quite good, but things feel just a bit askew: unbalanced, if you will.

So that is the truly hard work of adulting to be done, onward for finding more balance…

--

--