Trekking to Mt. Pinatubo’s Crater Lake: A beautiful disaster

ER Angala
8 min readMar 1, 2017

--

Just before the February ends, my buddy and I decided to visit and trek to this world renowned volcano named as Mt. Pinatubo. Famous not because of its beauty but due to the destruction it brought not only in the Philippines but unbelievably in the world too (more on global temperatures dropped, ozone depletion and those scientific stuff). Hence, that incident was labeled as the second largest volcanic eruption of the 20th century after the 1912 eruption of Novarupta in the Alaska Peninsula.

For more information about the said disaster, just google it. My blog is not intended for history stuff.

So, on the 25th of February 2017, without any packaged tour but just the will to go the said place, we hopped on a 4am bus going to Capas, Tarlac. The bus ride took almost 2 hours of travel before we reached the province. But that wasn’t the end of the ride yet as we have to take a 30 minute windy tricycle ride to Brgy. Sta. Juliana to join a packaged tour (we don’t really like joining package tour but for this trip, I highly recommend it). Upon reaching the barangay, we were asked to join the couple and luckily, they were nice and not choosy kind of persons.

We were then advised to ride the 4×4 ride to reach the trekking point, the place to start our trekking to Mt. Pinatubo.

It was a dusty and bumpy one hour ride but that didn’t bother me at all as the view outside was truly amazing. At first, we were just welcomed with flat terrain where distant mountains covered with fog can be seen. But after a couple of minutes, the scene was slowly changing to an exciting one where mighty toblerone like structures and ash white roads and peaks were viewed. Also, the road was getting more jagged which made it more thrilling.

We also encountered streams along the road and we had to cross it. We actually encountered lots of them and that made me even happier because I loved looking at the splashing water caused by cars but that doesn’t mean that I want to get splashed with water too. I just want to look at it, to take a photo of it. For art sake. Duh.

Along the way, we met our indigenous brothers and sisters too. The Aetas. They were actually the ones who were greatly affected by the volcanic eruption as that place serves as their home. Their livelihood and even their houses were destroyed by this unforgettable destruction of nature.

Look at those innocent smiles. Aren’t they priceless?

After an hour, we finally reached the jump off point to start our trek to Mt. Pinatubo’s crater lake. Armed with a pole stick at my hand, my backpack full of food at my back, and my camera around my neck, off we went to hike.

The trek wasn’t really challenging or perhaps I was just fit enough during the trek. It was just moderately a two hour trek. Just a straight, rocky road with some streams to cross. Unfortunately, I was wearing a pair of trekking shoes. With that, I had to step on the stones and rocks to avoid my shoes getting soaked on the water. How I wish I was wearing sandals so I won’t have to worry about the water and just enjoy my feet getting wet just like what my group mates did (they were wearing sandals/slippers).

To actually reach the crater lake, we had to climb up a hundred steps. And that was the part that I got quite tired. Stairs, just like what Po said in KungFu Panda, is my greatest enemy. However, upon reaching above, all the sweat, the heat, and the tiredness were washed away by the view. It was nothing but jaw-dropping. Amazing. Beautiful. I felt so blessed to witness this picturesque beauty.

Who would have thought that after that disastrous volcanic eruption of Mt. Pinatubo, it would create such a magnificent view of the crater lake? Indeed, nature moves in a mysterious way. Not just love, com’ on.

So what else to do? Took as many photos as I could, sat and relaxed, and admired the bluish green water of the crater’s lake and its surroundings. Unfortunately, it is not allowed to swim or even to take the boat as 1.) the water is acidic, 2.) there are no life guards in the area.

We ate our lunch around the area while looking at the lake. And I never thought eating lunch would feel this good. It must be the view as during weekdays, I was actually eating my breakfast, lunch, and snack at my desk facing the monitor. What a loser.

It would be better if we’ll be allowed to camp for the night at the area. But due to military reasons, nobody is allowed to do so. But seriously, if they will welcome campers soon, I will definitely definitely stay there for the night. Just imagine the stars shining brightly in the sky, reflecting on the lake or that moment where the sun is slowly peeping from the crater.

After some hours of rest, we headed back to the jump off point and rode the 4×4 jeepney again.

Despite the long hours of travel, and not so tiring trek, this mountain is one of the places worth traveling to in Luzon (though my photographs don’t give justice how beautiful the place is).

This is definitely a great day trip to people like me who just wanted to break away from the pollution and chaos of city life.

--

--