The Greater Good 2

Eloisa Ibok
2 min readSep 11, 2024

--

Filler episode.

Read episode 1 HERE

My Modern Met on Pinterest

Glossary

Njem: Telepaths

Uwa: An eastern country

Duniya: A northern country

Akama: Bearer

“Stop!!” I yelled at the same time I swung my hand. Fire engulfed the shrubs that surrounded me, and the lanky boy finally stood with his hands in surrender before me.

“Are you trying to kill me?” He asked with a crooked smile. The thought was inviting.

I observed him with fire burning hot behind my eyes.

He couldn’t be older than fourteen. He didn’t have on battle attire, but instead he wore a kaftan, tailored to his small frame. With strange eyes and the ability to shift positions at the speed of light.

“What kind of Àkámá are you?”

“I’m not. I’m an njem.” He slowly lowered his hands. “I promise I won’t play with your mind again.”

I blamed myself for straying away from the group. We had been assigned to a small portion of the border suitable for newbies, perfect for exploration.

I still held my hands up, ready to spread even more fire. He saw that and laughed; it pricked a nerve in my chest. I was about to strike again. but he quickly interjected.

“Can I at least explain to you?” He spoke very well for a child. It made me even more uncomfortable. What if he was one of the shape-shifting monsters they’d told us about?

I let out a breath and gestured for him to speak.

“Thank you. I’m an njem; I can play with your mind. I can make you think I’m here,” he was no longer in front of me, and I turned my head swiftly to the left, “when I actually am not.”

Suddenly he was behind me, then stood in front of me again. “You’ve never met one?”

“I lived in Duniya; I’ve only heard of people from Uwa” I lowered my hands, intrigued.

“How are you on this island? Are you a spy?” I asked, stepping closer. If he was a spy, I had to capture him somehow.

“I was born here. My father is the one who took you.”

I stumbled back.

Every day on this island, I learn something new.

“What do you mean?”

Thanks for reading!

See you tomorrow.

~Eloisa

--

--

Eloisa Ibok

I have a lot of thoughts, I try to organize them on paper.