Mere walking bundles of habit

Matthew Elonis
1 min readApr 7, 2020

William James says by thirty, we become mere walking bundles of habit.

Our character, frozen in time, we’re doomed to live out the life we set for ourselves before that age.

And although he’s partially right, he’s also wrong.

It just requires the right systems, it requires you to develop the mentality of change.

To become obsessed with changing things, especially when those things feel comfortable.

I keep a list of my most closely held beliefs on a label on my wall and each week I try to destroy one, most times I fail, but I typically win once or twice a year and that seems to be enough.

Another list I keep is “things I want to learn” and so there isn’t any moment in my life where I’m not taking on a new skill or subject.

The last list is “important things to do” and these are the GIANT goals on my ‘life to do list’ that I wish to accomplish and actually do.

I believe, with these three weapons in hand, I’ll never become a mere walking bundle of habits.

It’s effort, but it’s possible.

--

--