Dev Environment(Newbie) for Mac in 2016

Victor Tong
3 min readNov 24, 2016

--

I try to turn myself into IOS + Android developer in this year, Mac is so new to me even know I spend years in Windows.

Get some basic Apps from getmacapps

Select anything u want -> I actually install all of them, I don’t want to come back and install things again

Let’s do the Fonts (Why we need fonts? , it makes you read faster and better sleep)

> Get it from Ubuntu Font -> ubuntu Mono

> Get all google Font from Command Line -> Roboto mono

Android Studio

Just use mine with all the plug-in and setting , I have lot of dev machine and server (Save yourself a week )

Go to File->Import Settings->Select All of them

SDK -> Install all the *Build-Tools and the Extra-> You are good to go!!!

iTerm2 (Way Better than Terminal)

Just use mine ->Preference -> Import

chsh -s /bin/zsh

Change to zsh for oh my zsh (Make your terminal works again)

sh -c “$(wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/robbyrussell/oh-my-zsh/master/tools/install.sh -O -)”

**Install oh my zsh**

Following this guy in the github for setup the materials theme for oh my zsh and it works very well.

If any people are interested how to get my development up and running quickly. Please share some love to this post.

I usually skip all the basic, from what I learn over the years of programming, I kind of do “Intentional Programming” , the reason behind it is how I get myself get up running rather than repeating all the same concept over time.

Need Genymotion for emulator-> Download from here

Config the GenyMotion from Android studio

For windows, the default path is C:\Program Files\Genymobile\Genymotion

On a Mac, you will find it here: /Applications/Genymotion.app

Thanks you so much for Bob Lee, Wilson Balderrama kick start my IOS development journey

--

--

Victor Tong

Certificate at DataCamp || FinTech Developer || Keras Researcher || Crypto Miner || Blockchain Developer || Flutter