A timeless classic of love, remembrance, regret, and second chances: Persuasion by Jane Austen

Eman Noor
3 min readMar 22, 2024

--

“when pain is over, the remembrance of it often becomes a pleasure” — Persuasion, Jane Austen

With every line I read, I grew more and more fond of Jane Austen. One of my favorite works of literature, undoubtedly. the writing style, the characters, the setting, the warmth, and ofc, the love that Captain Wentworth and Anne had for each other. “there could have been no two hearts so open, no tastes so similar, no feelings so in unison” … a wonderful piece of art.

Set in early 19th century England, Austen creates a warm and cozy setting from the beginning of the novel, showcasing the timeless beauty of the English countryside as well as the urban side.

Austen intelligently explores the concept of social hierarchy, class rigidity as well as social mobility in this novel. Her adherence to social values and traditions yet a mind open towards greater social mobility, makes the novel especially interesting to read. I liked the portrayal of society in general and society about their attitudes towards women and those of the “lower ranks” (in terms of social status); their pursuits and desires. Captain Wentworth’s and Anne’s growth, beautifully explains these themes.

Oh and, I loved Anne. I liked how Anne was a symbol of strength, maturity, and intelligence and how she was portrayed as a rational yet witty character. Or in Captain Wentworth’s words, “Too good, too excellent creature!”

It's a special read because even after over two centuries, people especially, girls can resonate deeply with the book. Its depiction of love, remembrance, regret, second chances, and society in general will always be relevant. Her portrayal of the tragic hurdles one may face in their heartwarming pursuit of love makes the plot even more captivating. The way Austen explores the relationship of Anne and Captain Wentworth, keeps the readers indulged in the book. Their relationship had its ups and downs and wasn't perfect either, but their feelings for each other remained constant. The letter (perhaps one of the most famous letters) Wentworth leaves for Anne, towards the end of the book, his confession, is one of the most beautiful pieces of literature I've come across and gives souls like mine, who have no hope in love, some hope.

“You pierce my soul. I'm half agony, half hope. … Dare not say that a man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved, none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant… For you alone, I think and plan”

Austen is without a doubt one of the greatest writers in the history of literature, however, I truly became aware of the genius of Jane after reading this novel. She has the power to make the readers feel emotions from her words, like none other, and hence she’s “The Jane Austen”. It's authors like her that make u believe in the concept of love and sometimes perhaps even a second chance at love.

I can go on and on about how much I adore this book, and I would still not be able to explain. I can't recommend it enough. But “Persuasion” will remain a timeless romantic classic; evidence of Jane Austen's literary genius.

--

--