All dressed up and no place to go…

Steve Ember
3 min readJul 6, 2020

--

“All Dressed Up and No Place to Go — An Upper East Side Impression” ©2020 Steve Ember Click to fit screen

…from a photographer’s notebook

As we slog through an apparently-to-be-continued siege of the hot steamies this holiday weekend and on into early July, I have sought to take my mind off the current weather conditions, as well as the Covid19 situation by working up some images shot on brisk, low-humidity winter days, mainly in New York and, era-wise, well before unwelcome terms such as Corona virus and Covid19 became part of our daily discourse.

In other words…a photographer’s version of escapism…donning the “What’s My Line” Celebrity Guest Blindfold, throwing the imaginary dart at a hard drive, and catching up with images not yet worked up and shared, while basking in the comfort of his amply air-conditioned cave, perhaps even with “Let it Snow,” “Sleighride,” or Tchaikowsky’s “Winter Dreams” symphony on the music system.

Case in point…

I must say I was stopped in my tracks as I walked along this stretch of East 96th Street on Manhattan’s Upper East Side on a bracing, cold December evening in 2018.

I’d spent the past while shooting the constant parade of Metro-North commuter trains emerging from the 97th St portal of the long tunnel under Park Avenue for points north in New York or Connecticut, as well as those entering that tunnel for their final destination, Grand Central Terminal, some 50-odd blocks downtown.

And now it was time to head back across E 96th to Lexington Avenue to board a downtown 6 train to head back to my hotel and dress for dinner. Lots of interesting motifs along this stretch of neighborhood shops and residences, occasioning many a pause along the way.

Naturally, I had to wonder why this woman had allowed herself to be tethered to an iron fence. Curious also why she’d neglected to remove that large tag from her very colorful shawl.

OK, I jest, but this just had to be the most striking dressmaker’s mannequin I can recall ever seeing tied to an iron fence on a chilly December evening!

The tag, in case you were wondering, states:

Silk — A[n] Eco-Friendly Fiber Gifted to Humans
Silk is a natural protein fiber.
The best known type of silk is obtained from cocoons by the larvae of the Mulberry Silkworm.

After discussing names for silk in various languages of Persia and the Indian subcontinent, the label went on to state:
Silk is worn by people as a symbol of royalty. Silk is traditionally hand-woven and hand-dyed. The heritage of silk-rearing and weaving is very old and continues today. Silk is known for its soft texture. Silk textiles and articles last many years if carefully maintained.

Goodness, no wonder she chose not to remove it!

©2020 Steve Ember

You may view more of my New York photographs by visiting here or

https://500px.com/steveember/galleries/new-york-city

Most of my photographs can be purchased or licensed by contacting me via my web site.

--

--

Steve Ember

I am a photographer (film + digital), voice actor, and writer. You can sample my work at http://SteveEmber.com or https://500px.com/steveember