Homelab Learning: Rounding out your homelab build with a Python development network

Evyn Hedgpeth
2 min readAug 26, 2023

--

Hi, all. This is the seventh part in an ongoing series walking through the steps required to build my isolated homelab with a corporate environment, attack network, security operations center, and remote access VPN.

For greater context, take a look at my previous posts:

  1. Homelab Learning: General Overview
  2. Homelab Learning: Configuring Proxmox VE
  3. Homelab Learning: Configuring pfSense
  4. Homelab Learning: Building a Corporate Environment
  5. Homelab Learning: Building a Kali Attack Network
  6. Homelab Learning: Building a Security Operations Center with Splunk

Let’s get started on this installment!

Hi, folks. Many apologies for my absence over the last few weeks. Life comes at you fast times, eh?

We’ll be working on this subnet today.

Carrying on, I’ve got a short post related to an additional network segment that I’m using for learning python development and testing automation and scripts, and hosting Discord bots built through python.

This was an optional network I added to have an isolated area to practice python learning. I installed a Ubuntu VM on the vmbr5 interface over the 10.0.5.0 subnet with DHCP providing an IP for this client. For installation, follow the same Ubuntu Linux installation instructions discussed earlier in the series. I’ll also link the walkthrough at the bottom of this post for ease of access.

Once Ubuntu is installed and setup (you’ll want to update your system as always), you’ll be ready to do begin testing out new python scripts in an isolated network segment.

You may have also noticed that there is a Windows 10 client on this subnet. Since this network and device resemble what I (and many others) would be doing in my own(/their) home network, I’ve also laid the framework for connecting this network to the corporate network via remote access VPN. This is a common setup in modern work life, and I think it’s important that I understand how to configure and troubleshoot a design like this, for my own remote work and for any other colleagues that run into tech difficulties trying to make a remote connection run seamlessly.

Watch your PyDev work come to life in this subnet

In the next installment of the series, we’ll be configuring OpenVPN to allow this remote VPN access to the corporate network.

References:

General Ubuntu Linux VM setup (this is Ubuntu Server, but the same principles apply to Ubuntu): Ubuntu Linux Installation Guide of Proxmox

--

--