Capstone Process _Week 01

Emily Buck
1 min readMay 16, 2020

This week started I started ideating on my year long capstone project, which will complete my five year design education at the University of Cincinnati.

Right now, this project is a wide open blue sky, which is both exciting and challenging. Capstone is an opportunity to really explore a topic that I am passionate about, and create a deliverable that is truly my own. And while this is exciting, I have never had this amount of design freedom or creative control. This created a little mental block as I started my ideation process. I kept getting hung up on end results before I even truly considered the validity of the idea. After talking to my professor, I was able to reframe and simply focus on topic spaces that I was interested in.

While I am still exploring several topic spaces, I am looking forward to diving into research and really flushing out these topic spaces into smaller, more concise ideas.

This next week I will be flushing out my topic spaces and hopefully landing on an idea, and begin telling the story of my project.

--

--

Emily Buck

Design student in UC’s school of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning. Documenting my senior capstone process.