Photo courtesy of McDonald’s Japan

What’s New: McDonald’s Japan March 2019

The Teri-Tama spring burger and special pink drink. Hunger warning!

Emily
3 min readMar 15, 2019

--

Okay I am incredibly excited to write this post. I don’t eat McDonald’s often but the thought just hit me that some of you may be curious about the seasonal menus in Japan, especially around spring (aka cherry blossom) time.

So McDonald’s Japan has returned with their ever-popular Teri-Tama burger which I believe means teriyaki egg burger. It comes in cheeseburger and bacon varieties too!

Photo courtesy of McDonald’s Japan

For the sake of this blog, I also grabbed a ‘Tochiotome’ soda. Yes, it was just for the blog and not because I saw something pink and bubbly and said “gimme”…

So I was wondering what the heck is Tochiotome. You too? I know it’s a kind of Japanese fruit, so this is seriously exclusive to Japan. Let’s read more to learn:

Strawberries are available in Japan starting from spring until early summer… There are many different types of strawberries in Japan, but the most famous strawberry from “Tochiotome” from Tochigi prefecture, the leading producer of strawberries, are in season from March until early May.

Source: http://kon-nichiwa.tokyo/2017/02/02/japanese-strawberries-one-of-the-best-strawberries-in-the-world/

Oh, so they’re strawberries. Okay. But not just any strawberries – domestically produced strawberries from the strawberry kingdom of Japan, Tochigi!

I couldn’t wait to take a sip of this pink drink.

To be honest, I don’t know if I loved or hated this. It tasted like those strawberry scented erasers. You know what I’m talking about, right? That kind of artificial rubbery taste. But at the same time I couldn’t stop drinking it. I’d give it a 7/10.

Photo courtesy of McDonald’s Japan

I decided to get the black pepper bacon Teri-Tama burger because it looked like it just had ‘the most’, which is what I was in the mood for. Not holding back at all here! The burger alone is ¥450 (about $4.50) and as a set with drink and fries it’s ¥750 (about $7.50).

The slice of bacon was actually satisfyingly thick and flavorful. This burger seemed a little more amplified than your typical McDonald’s fare. It didn’t seem like I’d be hungry again in a couple hours.

This thing was hefty. And once I picked it up, I couldn’t put it down. Literally. It kind of fell apart on me but somehow in a good way. I just devoured it like a wild animal.

I was honestly impressed with this burger! I said I liked it more than Burger King which is significant because I’d usually never choose McDonald’s over Burger King. I’d order and devour this burger again! 10/10 from me! Please try it if you get the chance.

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed learning about some seasonal food in Japan, I’d appreciate a clap or a comment! Let me know if you’ve ever tried the McDonald’s seasonal menu. What was your favorite item?

--

--

Emily

Tokyo-based lifestyle blogger, focusing on food, beauty and experiences on a budget in Tokyo.