Photo by Rosie Photography.

I Ran 10km Everyday For 31 Consecutive Days

Here’s my experience and results

Emily Rudow
5 min readFeb 9, 2017

--

After reading The Happiness of Pursuit: Finding the Quest That Will Bring Purpose to Your Life by Chris Guillebeau, I was inspired to create my own challenge/mini-quest. In his book, Chris discusses the path to happiness is the pursuit of a long-term quest or objective and that it’s not accomplishing the quest itself that leads to happiness, but the journey. Taking steps each day towards something great.

For the past 4 years, I’ve always taken the month of January off drinking alcohol, but wanted to come up with a more challenging goal to start the year off. I wanted to pursue a goal that scared me. Normally I run between 4–7km/day, 6 days a week with one run maybe being 10k. By setting a goal of 10k everyday, I felt that uneasy feeling in my stomach — the time commitment, the weather conditions (January’s are known to be very cold in Toronto), and the potential of injuring myself after running 31 days straight without a rest day. The uneasy and scary feeling is exactly what Chris Guillebeau describes as a quest worth pursing. Although most quests are longer term, I decided to create my own mini quest for the month of January with the purpose of self growth. On top of the 10k/day, I also wanted to improve my blog writing skills so added a few other items to my daily 10k challenge:

--

--

Emily Rudow

Just a gal who loves to run, read, write, and snack. Author of Find Your Stride 🇨🇦 https://emilyrudow.com/findyourstride/