Project 3- Phase 4

Emily Malay
2 min readNov 3, 2021

--

Here is the digitalized poster design I came up with for Aaron Douglas. I tried to incorporate as much of his original style and color as I could. The most obvious thing is the silhouette and light circles/ beams. In addition to that though, he tends to create a layered background, usually with key structures or settings. Because this would take place in the Bruce Gallery, I added the silhouette of Doucette behind him, as well as having him stand in a room, supposedly the gallery itself. He also almost always has some sort of greenery framing his images, so I decided to do the same.

This is the digitalized poster for Georg Olden. Instead of going completely from scratch like the Aaron Douglas poster, I used one of his works as a base. His style has little to no color and tends to be more on the minimalist side. To make it a bit more interesting, I added one of his most renowned works, the emancipation proclamation postage stamp design, to the background at a very low opacity.

--

--