#AIhype take-downs

Emily M. Bender
5 min readSep 20, 2022

--

On reflecting on how much time I spend working to deflate and counteract AI hype, and how much of that ends up as Twitter threads, I thought it would be useful to have a place to link to all of them. Trying this out as a Medium post rather than just a page on my own website on the theory that this will have greater reach.

Links given in reverse-chronological order, to make it easier to find new things when readers check back. (Though in the short term, I may be turning up more older ones and slotting them in to their spot in the list.)

I’m only listing informal things here. For my publications see my publications page; for media appearances (including podcasts) see my media page. You may also be interested in Mystery AI Hype Theater 3000, my podcast with Alex Hanna (also available as videos).

--

--

Emily M. Bender

Professor, Linguistics, University of Washington// Faculty Director, Professional MS Program in Computational Linguistics (CLMS) faculty.washington.edu/ebender