A2 Logo Design

Elizabeth Mendoza
4 min readOct 5, 2021

--

This past week, my logo design underwent major revisions compared to how it was during our last critique session. As I had mentioned prior, I had a lot of difficulties settling on one design as I felt that nothing I had come up with resembled a real logo until my recent iteration.

On Tuesdays session, this was the draft that I had quickly created to start getting ideas on Illustrator.

It was very rough but part of my design process is starting with quick drawings that I then move around to create a better visual idea as to how I can improve upon the idea.

After taking ideas to incorporate some sort of current in the background, I had come up with this version of my logo.

I wanted to still keep the idea of having white space to give the illusion of the whale's white spots and having the shape of the whales form the curve of the circle and have currents between them. However, I felt that the white space idea could no longer exist with the idea of having water between the whales since the coloring wouldnt make sense.

I had then compromised on the idea and incorporated a ball of water between the whales, that way they can still form the curve but not be engulfed by the water itself. I was inspired by paintings of koi fish as they’re often depicted in a similar ying and yang style. Yet the thing with koi fish is that they typically have much more vibrant colors, unlike the black and white killer whales. So I wanted more interations to play around with the color scheme.

I had wanted to make the whales a lighter color and play around with the shade of the shape behind them. However, after feedback, many said the red circle was off-putting compared to the blue, so I stuck with the cooler shade and created my brand sheet with it.

From there, I decided that this more detailed, flowey logo would look best on a tote bag, water tumbler, and iPad cover. I added some color overlay and grain to the tote bag to make it match the fabric better. For the iPad cover, I added a shadow to make it look like it's reflecting on the iPad itself. For the bottle, I warped the shape around the bottle and added a yellow overlay alongside a yellow grain and slight embossing to make it look like it has texture on the bottle.

Overall, I am pretty happy with the way the logo turned out! While I do think improvements can be made to keep its visibility better when shrunken down, I think it was a major improvement to my initial ideas.

--

--