Can a Hopeless Romantic Be Polyamorous?

I’ve mastered monogamy, but can I handle more?

Emma Austin
Polyamory Today

--

I’m drawn to romance. Not just because I used to think about my wedding day long before I even had a boyfriend; I’m also drawn to it in everything I enjoy.

I abandoned the heavy metal I listened to as a teenager and now listen almost exclusively to music that has a romantic flair. My playlist is full of songs that have a sweet sound, paint relationship scenarios, and make me think of love.

And I don’t even care for romantic comedies all that much because there’s too much focus on mishaps and humor. Instead, give me romantic dramas with more realistic depictions of relationships — messy, complicated, and beautiful.

It’s not just movies, though. I’m picky about real life relationships, too. I don’t fall in love easily, but when I do, I fall in love hard. I need a strong bond and deep intimacy.

I look at what people usually consider a “normal relationship” and it doesn’t really appeal to me. There’s just not enough closeness.

Lately, I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about non-monogamy. But one thing that keeps nagging at me is whether I’m really built for it. Is it possible for a hopeless romantic like me to really open up my marriage instead of doubling down on my…

--

--

Emma Austin
Polyamory Today

💜 Wholesome perv with a touch of whimsy 🖤 My podcast, spicy content, and more: https://www.loveemmaaustin.com/all-my-projects