Communication needs Understanding

Emma
3 min readJan 6, 2024

I find joy in tuning into podcasts where people grapple with real-life dilemmas. That’s what I told him when he inquired about my go-to boredom activities.

“Maybe you should pick up a good book instead. Invest your time in something worthwhile, not in things that won’t add value,” he remarked, his tone dripping with disdain.

“Peter,” I interjected, a sense of discomfort creeping over me, “I don’t appreciate it when you talk like that. You should respect other people’s hobbies.”

“What are you going on about?” he retorted, peering straight into my eyes.

“Cut it out. We’re friends, and I love you, but sometimes your comments get under my skin,” I asserted.

Peter remained silent, and our conversation shifted gears, momentarily forgetting the unpleasant disagreement.

Fast forward to the next week, we’re having lunch. I proudly display my new, cool earphones, steering the chat back to podcasts. Unexpectedly, he hurls another cutting comment my way.

“Seriously? Still hooked on those? Find something more productive to do with your time,” he scoffed.

“Peter, let me pose a question. You repeatedly read Harry Potter, right? Is it for learning or simply because you enjoy the books?” I queried.

He shot me a slightly irritated look. “See how that felt? That’s why they call it a hobby. I do it because I enjoy it, not for some grand learning purpose. Although, I…

--

--