How I Made $40,000 Off A Book…Before I Even Published It.

Emma Bostian
9 min readMay 10, 2020

Before I jump in, I quickly want to state that I will be discussing money in this post but please do not interpret this as bragging. My goal of sharing this information is not to brag but to make my finances and process more transparent with the hopes of enabling you to get out there and earn some extra cash.

Additionally for a first-time self-published launch I recognize that my situation is a bit of an outlier. I attribute this to having a large Twitter following (101,000 followers) and as such having a group to market to. It may take you months or years to reach the same profit I did, but PLEASE do not let that discourage you. Every product and marketing strategy is different and will yield different outcomes. Every product serves a different market need and some are more needed than others.

My hope is that the things I did to create and market my E-book can help you to create and market your content.

Background

On April 8, 2020 I opened the pre-sale for a book I had plans to write called “De-Coding The Technical Interview Process.” I had just announced that I would be joining Spotify in Stockholm, Sweden as a software engineer and realized that my experience and knowledge surrounding the technical interview process could help others (especially given that many…

--

--

Emma Bostian

Software Engineer @ LogMeIn by day, cat Mom by night. Also a full-time Bibliophile. I enjoy all things Front-end & Design