Feelings

Emma Jenkins
2 min readSep 27, 2018

--

Morris Albert ~ Feelings (1975)

It may be an interesting song from the seventies, but it’s so interesting how much music can explain our untold moods. Whether it be a sad song about breaking up -I’m Not Her ~ Julia Brennan (2016)-, or just getting mad at someone -Really Don’t Care ~ Demi Lovato (2013) or even just every day -Have It All~ Jason Mraz (2018)- music always tells a story.

You may be writing the music to describe how you are feeling, or you may be just listening either way the music you listen to expresses those inner feelings you have that you may not want the whole world to know, so be careful what you’re listening to around other people.

I know this from experience since I love listening to music and I often do it while working on homework. Yet there are a few songs on my playlist that I typically repeat for a while and then eventually I stop listening to those and replace those with new songs. Yet, my roommate has figured out how to know my mood based on what music I am listening to. She came in the other day and heard some of the music I was listening to and just said “What’s wrong?” I was really confused then she said that I always listened to that specific song when I’m upset with specific people so that was a real eye opening experience to remind me people can read you more than you think.

Music is just one way to read people and it will honestly tell you more than you think, and of things you never would’ve guessed.

--

--