Scott Conger is America’s Mayor

Emma Revelle
4 min readApr 9, 2020

--

Often called #mayorwiththegoodhair, Mayor Scott Conger doesn’t have time to mess around with you fools acting up and not staying home during the COVID-19 pandemic… and we love him for it.

Pre-coronavirus his “virtual town hall city council” videos on facebook live consisted of thrilling topics like street repair, budget committees, stormwater management, blah, blah, blah, etc. During coronavirus we’ve all tuned in to hear his sass and be yelled at to stay home. His patience, quick wit and exceptional hair are irresistible and have kept us informed and entertained. Here are some of his best quotes:

“Making demands on what I need to do is not helping me answer questions.”

“I don’t have a crystal ball to tell you that.”

“If your question is obvious, I’m going to require you to look it up yourself.”

“The game is- ask less obvious questions.”

“I appreciate the information about what I need to do.”

“Mom, get off here.”

“Food is food is food.”

“I hope and pray to god that I do not have to talk to you all until Monday.”

“Ya’ll stop touching each other.”

“Quit tattling. I gave you a number to tattle. That’s the number to tattle.”

“The SBA does not play.”

“Are security guards essential? SECURITY. GUARDS.”

“Snoop Dog is scheduled to come to Jackson. If ya’ll can’t stay home and stop spreading COVID-19, Snoop Dog ain’t coming.”

“Lisa. Lisa. Lisa. You are asking the same question over and over again in different ways. I’m not going to answer it anymore.”

“The only date you can look forward to is when all of ya’ll stay in the house.”

“Okay, time out. We have an FAQ on the website. I have put FAQs on my facebook page. I’ve put it on my Instagram on my twitter. It’s on the chamber website. Stop asking me if your business is essential.”

“Quit tattling. I gave you a number to tattle. That’s the number to tattle”

“Gosh, ya’ll have really lost your minds today.”

“Ya’ll are crazy. Lost your mind. You don’t read. You don’t look at anything. You don’t do any research. All of this access to information. Ya’ll don’t do anything. I even give ya’ll the stuff to look at.”

“I’m not lifting my leg up to show ya’ll my socks”

“I can explain it. I can’t understand it for you.”

“Let me see what mess ya’ll have started.”

“Read. The. Order. Read. The. Order. Read the Order.”

“If you can find out how to keep your kids 6 feet away from you, please let me know.”

He claps back at residents every afternoon on his facebook live question and answer session where he addresses questions in real time. Besides the fact that Sassy Scotty is getting real with people, his shelter in place executive orders have been some of the strictest in the state and country. He’s not playing with ya’ll and he’s not playing with COVID-19.

--

--