The art of self-love

Eniola Gift
4 min readFeb 13, 2023

--

Self-love

Self love simply means loving yourself!

There's no simpler way to put it.

Self love is putting you first, it doesn’t make you selfish. As much as other people matter, you matter too.

Self-love is a state of appreciation for oneself that grows from actions that support our physical, psychological and spiritual growth.

Self-love means having a high regard for your own well-being and happiness.

Self-love means taking care of your own needs and not sacrificing your well-being to please others.

Self-love is a crucial aspect of one's mental and emotional wellbeing.

It is the foundation of self-care, self-worth, and overall happiness.

I spent eighteen years of my life partially hating myself.

The reason is not weird.

When I was younger, like normal siblings, my brother and I fought all the time.

He always told me that I was ugly, I was so young and I didn’t know anything.

He's my elder brother so of course, I believed him.

I attended a government senior secondary school.

I’m the only child of my parents that attended a public school so I thought my mother didn’t love me because she had always said none of her children would attend a public school.

My school mates were different shades of crazy, they always made fun of me.

They called me the white girl even though I’m very dark.

They called me that because I speak English fluently and they all spoke either Yoruba or Pidgin English.

That wasn't even a problem.

I hated myself more when someone made fun of me because I have a bow leg.

It was at that moment others noticed it because the bow legs is barely noticeable.

I cried so much and wondered what I did so wrong that made God give me a bow leg.

In my head, I wasn't beautiful and my leg was not straight so I had no reason to love myself.

When I was preparing to write JAMB, I decided to attend a tutorial.

One day, a fine boy called me "African Queen", I was so excited.

When I got home, for the first time; I really looked at the mirror and I was shocked to see a black beauty staring back at me.

I was standing in front of a full-size mirror and I could see my legs too so I discovered that my legs are not bad at all.

That was my moment of realization.

My heart swelled with love for the beautiful lady staring back at me.

Self-love is the act of embracing and accepting oneself for who they are, warts and all.

Yes, I’m very dark, I’m gorgeous.

My legs are not entirely straight, they’re perfect.

I have an amazing body and I’m smart!

Now tell me, why won’t I love me?

Another aspect of self-love is self-acceptance.

This means embracing all aspects of oneself, including flaws and imperfections.

It is important to recognize that everyone has flaws, and to learn to love and accept these parts of oneself as well.

This can be a difficult process, but it is crucial in developing a healthy self-image.

Self love encompasses all aspects of self, from physical appearance to personality traits and behavior patterns.

Many people struggle with self-love because they have been taught to focus on their shortcomings, rather than their strengths.

Society often promotes an unrealistic standard of beauty and success, which can leave individuals feeling inadequate and unworthy of love and respect.

This can lead to a vicious cycle of negative self-talk, low self-esteem, and self-criticism.

However, self-love is a crucial component in breaking this cycle. By embracing and loving oneself, individuals can learn to quiet their inner critic, practice self-care, and improve their mental and emotional wellbeing.

One way to practice self-love is through self-care. This can be anything from taking a relaxing bath, going for a walk in nature, or indulging in a favorite hobby. It is important to prioritize self-care and make time for activities that bring joy and relaxation.

This not only improves one's physical health, but it also helps to boost self-esteem and confidence.

In addition to self-care and self-acceptance, self-compassion is also an important aspect of self-love.

This means treating oneself with the same kindness, understanding, and compassion that one would show to a friend.

It is important to speak to oneself in a positive and encouraging manner, and to avoid negative self-talk and self-criticism.

Finally, self-love also involves setting healthy boundaries.

This means recognizing one's limits and learning to say "no" to people and activities that do not align with one's values and priorities.

By setting healthy boundaries, individuals can protect their mental and emotional wellbeing and prioritize their own needs and wants.

Self-love is an important aspect of overall mental and emotional wellbeing. It involves self-care, self-acceptance, self-compassion, and setting healthy boundaries.

By embracing and loving oneself, individuals can improve their self-esteem, quiet their inner critic, and live a happier, more fulfilling life.

Once you love yourself, it'll be easier for others to love you.

You won't have to beg for love, it'll come to you without stress.

It can be quite difficult learning to love yourself. I started the journey of self-love alone but my wife was there to help me too.

If you want, I’d like to help you too, so be sure to leave a comment and follow this page so that you don’t miss out on amazing contents that will influence your growth.

The purpose of telling my story is to encourage you, so give this post as many claps as you can, to reward me for sharing my story.

Thanks for reading!

#tripleconline #machineminds

--

--