UX Engineering

The Future Of Front-End Development & Building Consistent Products

Emma Bostian
7 min readApr 14, 2019

A few months ago I was thrilled to be officially deemed a “UX Engineer” (UXE) at LogMeIn. I was going to get the chance to build Design Systems! But once the excitement wore off, I quickly realized how undefined the UXE role is. I tried Googling the position but came up empty handed.

Although a few companies, such as Google and Etsy, are starting to hire UXEs, the position differs vastly between companies.

Thus, after much research into the field, I believe I have finally narrowed down the role of a UXE, the skills needed to succeed, and the responsibilities.

Note that this role has been combined not only from all of the research I have completed, but from my personal experiences. If you’re considering a role in UXE, please review the requirements for that position with your potential employer.

What Is A UX Engineer?

A UX Engineer (UXE) is a Front-End Engineer who sits on a cross-functional design team and helps facilitate collaboration between design and engineering.

UXEs possess the skill-set of a Front-end Engineer but with working knowledge of UX design principles. Their primary domain focuses on the design/UI component layer of an…

--

--

Emma Bostian

Software Engineer @ LogMeIn by day, cat Mom by night. Also a full-time Bibliophile. I enjoy all things Front-end & Design