The Brave Seagull Who Wanted Freedom

Emma Kind
4 min readNov 12, 2017

--

I was recently asked about a book that I’ve read multiple times and which inspires me the most. The first book that came to my mind was “Jonathan Livingston Seagull” by Richard Bach.

The first time I read this book was when I studied in school. Then, after several years, I came across it and decided to re-read it. It’s hard to describe my emotions when I finished reading it for the second time. I knew that I’m going to read it again and again throughout my life.

There are many motivational stories, life-coaches and speakers nowadays who are trying to bring people to life and tell them that life is too short to wait for opportunities. They share tips on how to become successful, how to be productive, how to stand out from the crowd, how to change your life, how to be creative, etc.

What is the difference between them and this book?

This story is not trying to sell, and you can read it to your children.

When I read it for the first time, I thought that this seagull was really brave and I wanted to be brave too. I had a dream and started to believe that one day my dream will come true.

As an adult, I realized that this story isn’t really about a bored seagull with his meaningless life and his passion for flight and freedom.

It’s all about those who fulfil their dreams and inspire others.

His yearning for the heights made him spend more and more hours on learning to fly. He had many ups and downs. He was practicing and failing over and over again, but it didn’t stop him.

He was pushing himself beyond his limits.

There was a conflict with the society he lived in because of his actions. Even his parents turned their backs on him. But being misunderstood didn’t stop him from achieving his goal.

“Jonathan sighed. The price of being misunderstood, he thought. They call you devil or they call you god.”

He wasn’t alone in his wanderings. Soon, Jonathan was accepted in a society of like-minded gulls who helped him become better and master his skills.

But what makes Jonathan so special?

His empathy and love.

This brave seagull wanted to share his experience and knowledge with those who are afraid to make the first step and those who refused to accept him. He wanted to show that everything is possible.

From time to time I’m getting back to this book and read some excerpts from it, which motivate me and keep me moving forward.

I won’t tell you what lessons I’ve learned from Jonathan and his story, because I want you to read the book and learn them yourself.

“Richard Bach with this book does two things. He gives me Flight. He makes me Young. For both I am deeply grateful.” Ray Bradbury

But, I will share some of the best quotes from this masterpiece, which will make you think and understand very important things:

1. “You have the freedom to be yourself, your true self, here and now, and nothing can stand in your way. It is the law.”

2. - “Are you saying I can fly?” - “I say you are free.”

3. - “Why, Jon, why?” his mother asked. — “Why is it so hard to be like the rest of the flock, Jon? Why can’t you leave low flying to the pelicans, the albatross? Why don’t you eat? Son, you’re bone and feathers!”

- “I don’t mind being bone and feathers, mom. I just want to know what I can do in the air and what I can’t, that’s all. I just want to know.”

4. “Do you have any idea how many lives we must have gone through before we even got the first idea that there is more to life than eating, or fighting, or power in the Flock?”

5. “The only law is one which leads to freedom”

6. “To begin with, you’ve got to understand that a seagull is an unlimited idea of freedom, an image of the Great Gull, and your whole body, from wingtip to wingtip, is nothing more than your thought itself.”

7. “Don’t believe what your eyes are telling you. All they show is limitation. Look with your understanding, find out what you already know, and you’ll see the way to fly.”

8. “His one sorrow was not solitude, it was that other gulls refused to believe the glory of flight that awaited them; they refused to open their eyes and see.”

9. “No, Jonathan, there is no such place. Heaven is not a place, and it is not a time. Heaven is being perfect.”

10. “Overcome space, and all we have left is Here. Overcome time, and all we have left is Now.”

11. - “I don’t understand how you manage to love a mob of birds that has just tried to kill you.”

- “Oh, Fletch, you don’t love that! You don’t love hatred and evil, of course. You have to practise and see the real gull, the good in every one of them, and to help them see it in themselves. That’s what I mean by love. It’s fun, when you get the knack of it.”

Call to action

I’m not asking you to subscribe, or download a free ebook. I would like you to read this book and share your thoughts and feelings in the comments.

--

--