A UXD Trait: Making Use of the Audit and Compliance Powers to Effect Changes

Ymmannuelle Villaceran
1 min readJun 4, 2017

--

In iTech Labs, my role was a combination of project management, testing, and audit and compliance.

I had to audit and certify online games and gambling websites that were heavy with graphics and functionalities. While the purpose of the audit is to check the games and websites according to government jurisdictional standards, I strove to enforce regulations for the players benefit; that they are not misled into wrong betting and addictive gambling through using the generality of standards and regulations.

While some standards can be very specific, some are quite general which would allow me to exercise more freedom to effect better changes into the gambling operators’ games and websites. Such as:

  • When the standard says that game rules should not be misleading, I’d recommend changes in the content of the game rules and websites that would make statements clear and unambiguous.
  • Recommending availability of functions that would present clear means for a player to stop his games such as clear placement of information on game screens and easy navigation to balance and activity information.

In UXD, the user is central to the product. In my audit and compliance experience, I had argued changes in games and websites for the benefit of players.

--

--

Ymmannuelle Villaceran

A new navigator in the world of User Experience Design. When I’m not thinking about how to steer my career towards UXD, I’m likely to be watching GoT.