Ymmannuelle Villaceran
2 min readMay 26, 2017

Interview: A Commuter’s Daily Transport Experience

The first assignment in the course “Human-Centered Design: An Introduction” in Coursera is interviewing and needfinding.

While I endeavored to follow the interview script that I created, I allowed the interviewee to speak freely (and in some instances prodded her further with probing clarifications and questions). While the interview may not have strictly followed the flow with which I planned in my script, I learned more interesting stories and insights during those sidetracked questions and answers.

I was particularly drawn to the challenges that Gabby, the interviewee, encountered, among others:

  • jam-packed trains
  • delayed services
  • keeping a photo of a timetable rather than using a mobile app for bus timings
  • not being able to keep track of Myki card balance
  • being penalised for failing to tap the Myki card during a mad rush to board the train

With her experiences, I was already toying with a few solutions in my mind that will benefit passengers such as Gabby.

Listen to the interview here:

Let me know of your thoughts. Should anyone need the script for reference, please drop me a note. :)

Ymmannuelle Villaceran

A new navigator in the world of User Experience Design. When I’m not thinking about how to steer my career towards UXD, I’m likely to be watching GoT.