Rooted in Wrightsville

A Story of Hardship and History

Jackson Phillips
16 min readJul 22, 2019
Family Photo in Front of the Shed

A jolt of shock and pain flooded my veins as the whirring of the small vehicle slowed. My head jerked forward and I tasted blood in my mouth. I opened my eyes to see nothing but pine straw and darkness. Tears formed in my eyes and my hands felt as if they were on fire. The ringing in my ears dulled and I rolled over onto my back. Seeing the tree branches peacefully swaying in the wind and smelling the sweet country air calmed me down and ended my weeping. I rose, mounted my small four wheeler, reversed away from the thick pine tree, and headed back down the path to the house. My mother was upset that I had injured myself, but the rest of my family was proud that I had made it back considering I has smashed several of my teeth and torn my skin. This ended up being a bittersweet memory, but many of my Wrightsville experiences were. Being with my family, however, was a rare and welcome treat. Researching the people and events that brought this clan to Johnson County led me to thought-provoking discoveries.

Old Man Burns

Jordan Minter Burns was thrust into the most violent war in American history at the age of 16. Adolescents younger than myself were expected to mature rapidly and endure hellish conditions while battling other Americans. An estimated 620,000 Americans were killed in the Civil War, yet Jordan Minter survived to stand with General Robert E. Lee as he surrendered at Appomattox Courthouse in Virginia. This moment marked a massive turning point in both the history of the United States and the origin of my family.

The 1850 US Federal Census confirms that a 3-year-old Jordan Minter resided in Washington County, GA. He came from a family of farmers, and he was trained to be an expert in this field from a young age. Ancestry’s online database for American Civil War Soldiers confirms that Jordan Minter Burns enlisted to the Confederacy on the 5th of April in 1864. Murray Wayne remembers being told that Jordan Minter was forced to walk home from Virginia to Georgia, and that his shoes deteriorated off of his feet during the journey. The tenacity and grit he displayed by surviving this brutal war are traits I will always admire.

Georgia, Marriage Records From Select Counties, 1828–1978 asserts that Jordan M. Burns married Olivia Page on the 15th of February in 1868 in Washington, Georgia. The two had many children, including William Preston Burns, the man whom I am named after. The pair spent many years travelling as poor farmers, but they finally settled in Johnson County by the time the 1920 census was taken. Surviving the Great Depression in rural Georgia as a farmer was unimaginably difficult. The combination of the boll weevil’s destruction of crops and the price of cotton falling forced southern farmers to purchase expensive new equipment during this time. The Burns family was not nearly wealthy enough to afford this, so the Great Depression was an especially egregious time for them. Thankfully, crops including corn and farm animals such as cows and chickens kept my ancestors alive.

My grandfather also remembers his mother telling him that Jordan Minter, her grandfather, was bedridden for the latter stages of his life. She mentioned that because he was unable to independently interact with his grandchildren, he would leave a bag of hard candy beside his bed so that they would be rewarded for visiting him. Just as he fought through one of the bloodiest wars in history, Jordan Minter Burns fought to stay alive for years before passing away at the age of 84.

Johnson County

Johnson County was created by the state legislature in 1858 from Emanuel, Laurens, and Washington counties and named after Herschel Johnson, the governor of Georgia between 1853 and 1857. Wrightsville was created to be the county seat, and it was incorporated in 1866. It is named after John B. Wright, a member of the county committee and a later member of the state legislature. The population of the town grew rapidly during the 1890’s, just before Jordan Minter Burns settled here. The influence of the church has always been present in this area, and the Methodist Episcopal Church established a district high school in the late 19th century. Children were raised by Christian families, taught in a Christian school, and went to church frequently. The town has remained relatively small and poor compared to other nearby areas such as Dublin. This is the community that my grandfather found himself thrust into during his childhood.

Me and Murray Wayne in 2015

My Grandpa

Murray Wayne Phillips, the son of Reda Mae Burns and Willie Arter Phillips, is the closest surviving relative to the rest of the Wrightsville clan. Born January 24, 1951, my grandfather described growing up in Wrightsville as a hard life due to the nature of a life as a row crop farmer’s son. His family hand picked cotton, peas, and corn. They raised hogs and transported them to the local slaughterhouse to be cured out. The chicken coop required constant maintenance. Milk and butter were obtained directly from the cows on the farm. There were daily tasks that had to be completed, but he strove to live a life with no regrets. Independence and providing for one’s family were stressed in this community. Additionally, he stressed that his parents never missed church and that Christian teachings dominated the household.

My grandfather remembers a time without cell phones, the internet, or any instant forms of communication that we take for granted today. It was a treat for the family to leave the farm, and buying groceries was a grand undertaking. Any free time was filled with outdoor activities with neighbors and relatives. Murray was unaware of any possibility of an easier life, so he was happy to be living where and when he was. He vividly remembers breaking his arm when he was five years old after attempting to hang up a mop on the back porch. Bone pushed through his elbow, but his mother told him to just put a hand over it until they made it to the local doctor. Reda Mae pulled his arm back into place on the way there. The doctor commended Reda Mae for her efforts, wrapped the arm, and prescribed some aspirin. This is drastically different from medical practices today, and the fact that he has had no problems with that arm is astounding.

Murray Wayne left the farm in September of 1969 because he wanted to pursue a career in something other than agriculture. He went to Macon Tech and studied computer programming while working at First National Bank. His status as a 1F school student kept him from entering the Vietnam War Draft. He returned to Wrightsville to find that the roads were paved, and all crops were being picked by machines. He also noted that employment for younger citizens has essentially vanished, and that the prison and school systems are the biggest employers.

Old Family House

Murray Wayne also attested that his grandfather, John David Phillips, purchased 800 acres of land from a man by the name of Tarbutton around 1907. The old Phillips family house located on 2771 New Buckeye Road has stood for centuries. My grandfather stated that the house was constructed by John B. Wright. The house was built sometime in the 19th century, and the lumber was hauled by mule from Macon. The upper floor is used for storage and the house has never been painted. The second and newer house is near this original one, so all of my memories of Wrightsville include the area encompassing both properties. I can recall one massive family reunion that took place at this house, but nobody was allowed to explore the house because it is unstable due to its age.

Present Day

Wrightsville, Georgia, a town of only 3,757 current residents, contains well over a century of my family’s history. The only recognizable name the average person could connect to this area is Herschel Walker, the legendary tailback and leader at the University of Georgia. Herschel’s name resonates with everyone associated with Wrightsville, as his heroic personality, Christian background, and renowned work ethic epitomize a model citizen in the town. As he once said, “I’m so high off God that I don’t care what you do, you can never destroy me.” He was bullied as a child, but this only pushed him to participate in sports and train his body and mind to excel. This drive to overcome adversity can be found in my ancestors and relatives as well. On several occasions, I have met people from Wrightsville who ask me if I will be in attendance for the Herschel Walker parade. Residents in Wrightsville have used this term as a re-branding of the Fourth of July parade. He normally rides in one of the floats, and he has a football camp that he runs at the local high school. I strive to be as involved in my community as Herschel still is. His traits reflect the community’s best qualities, and the residents attempt to install them into every generation.

My Great-Grandfather’s Home

My personal experience with Wrightsville has developed through repeated visits to my great-grandfather’s farm. I have many fond memories of riding horses, hearing the wall of noise generated by countless bugs, feeding chickens, cooking over a campfire, exploring the areas around the farm, and sleeping by the pond. Another attraction of the area was my family. During my lifetime, my great-grandparents did not stray far from the house due to their age and deteriorating minds. Their kindness and generosity were renowned by both my family and the community. Every family gathering included delicious cooking, storytelling, and warm smiles.

Land Behind the House

The most memorable facet of family gatherings included trips to the areas behind the house. Several hundred acres of farmland, woodlands, and ponds lie beyond the backyard. These seemingly endless areas offered great opportunities for exploration to me as a child. These memories evoke feelings of safety and togetherness that I have yet to find a parallel to. The house now belongs to my grandfather and he still takes care of several horses and a few dogs. The history of my family and the memories I have created in this area will forever be ingrained into my being, and I am immensely proud to be a part of the Phillips family.

My Sources

Before interviewing my grandfather, I wanted to research the history of the area and my family.

Johnson County

Cooksey, Elizabeth B. “Johnson County.” New Georgia Encyclopedia, 31 Oct. 2018, www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/articles/counties-cities-neighborhoods/johnson-county.

Old Wrightsville Railroad Depot

My family’s ties to Johnson County are undeniable and storied. The few distinguishing features associated with the area are described in this source. The county was created by the state in 1858 and named after Herschel Johnson, the governor of Georgia between 1853 and 1857. He was also the only judge in Georgia history to sit on the bench in the superior court of a county named after him. The county seat, Wrightsville, was laid out on land donated by William Hicks. The first courthouse was a simple wooden structure, which is very reflective of the people in the area, who were also modest. Additionally, the county is located on a Georgia Civil War Heritage Trail due to the fact that Union general William T. Sherman marched through the area on his way to the sea. Herschel Walker graduated from Johnson County High School in 1980 and remains active in the community. The Methodist Episcopal Church, established in 1888, greatly impacted the town be providing a place of worship for the many devout Christians. The community center is the Wrightsville Depot, which was built in 1900. The building now functions as the house of the Johnson County Chamber of Commerce. All of these facts make this article relevant to my heritage because my ancestors utilized these building and have respected these individuals for decades.

Great Depression

Zainaldin, Jamil S. “Great Depression.” New Georgia Encyclopedia, 5 Nov. 2005, www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/articles/history-archaeology/great-depression.

Sharecroppers

The Great Depression altered the entire social and economic landscape of the United States. Every area of the country was affected, but the impact was greater in select regions. Southern farms had very little money to go around. This made sharecropping become a decent option. In Georgia, farmers who relied on a cash crop were hit hard, and often focused on subsistence farming instead. This is what happened to the Burns family. The soil was often dried and desolate due to years of repeated harvesting and neglect. The Burns family made do, and without their determination to survive and weather this economic hurricane, my family may have never existed.

John B. Wright House

Brown, Brian. “John B. Wright House, Circa 1799, Johnson County.” Vanishing South Georgia Photographs by Brian Brown, 5 Nov. 2016, vanishingsouthgeorgia.com/2012/08/01/john-b-wright-house-circa-1799-johnson-county/.

Brian Brown’s photography captures a waning part of American history and is imperative to the survival of south Georgia’s fading past. This particular article focuses on the house that my ancestors purchased and lived in for decades. The house in vernacular in style, and he notes that the second floor has shuttered windows for storage. Mr. Brown also notes that the constructor of the house, John B. Wright, introduced legislation which allowed women the right to inherit land as individuals. The existing law required individual women to cede property to their husbands. Mr. Wright only had three daughters, so this law ensured that his land would remain in his family. Mr. Brown closes his article by stating that the Phillips family has occupied the house from 1912 forward. This structure has held countess meals and conversations between my ancestors that I wish I could have witnessed. The fact that the house not only still stands, but is still owned by the Phillips family is amazing.

Herschel Walker

“Herschel Walker.” Academy of Achievement, 18 Feb. 2018, www.achievement.org/achiever/herschel-walker/.

1982 Heisman Trophy Recipient

In the early years of his life, Herschel Walker showed little interest in sports. However, after he was bullied, he committed himself to athletic excellence. At age 12, Herschel began doing 100,000 sit-ups and push-ups in a year. He also sprinted countless miles along the train tracks in Wrightsville. In high school, he scored a record-breaking 86 touchdowns and led his football team to a state championship. Herschel also competed in track and field and won a state title in that sport as well. All of this was accomplished while maintaining an A average in school.

As a freshman at the University of Georgia, Herschel led the bulldogs to the 1980 national title. He also won SEC player of the year every year he was a bulldog. In his three collegiate seasons, Herschel rushed for 5, 259 yards, a school record that still stands. He also amassed 10 NCAA records, 15 SEC records, and 30 UGA records. Herschel’s mark on college football as one of the best running backs of all time is near the pinnacle of football lore.

Herschel and Donald Trump in 1984

In 1983, Herschel headed to the New Jersey Generals of the United States Football League. The team’s owner, Donald Trump, gave Herschel the richest pro football contract ever seen to that point. The USFL did not last however, as it could not compete with the dominance of the NFL. So in 1986, Herschel joined the Dallas Cowboys. He led the NFL in rushing yards and earned All-Pro honors. He retired from the NFL in 1997. Herschel also worked with numerous organizations to give back. In 1981, He returned to the Academy of Achievement as a recipient of the Golden Plate Award, and was the first student to do so. In 2002, he was accepted into the College Football Hall of fame and was chosen as the second greatest player in college football history.

In 2008, Herschel revealed that he had suffered from dissociation identity disorder for years. After he retired from football, his friends and family attest that he would have episodes of uncontrollable anger and threats. He has utilized psychotherapy to treat this disorder, and only made his affliction public in hopes of encouraging others with the disorder to find help.

As I have already gone over, Herschel Walker is the shining example of what a Wrightsville citizen can achieve. The entire county, along with many other Americans, idolize Walker. His speed, dominance, and success are the fruits of his intense focus on training, but he will be the first to tell you that none of it could have been possible without his relationship with God. While reading this piece, I found that Herschel shared many qualities that my parents instilled in me. This all stems from Wrightsville, a connection I never expected to find.

Interview

  1. When and where were you born?
  2. What was growing up in Wrightsville like?
  3. Who has owned the farm?
  4. Who has owned the old house?
  5. What were your parents like in terms of their values?
  6. Did you enjoy life on the farm?
  7. Does anything stand out from your childhood?
  8. What can you tell me about Jordan Minter Burns?
  9. Why did you leave Wrightsville? Was this a difficult decision?
  10. What is it like living there now? Is anything different?
  11. What is the Herschel Walker parade?

Oral History

My grandfather was unable to meet with me during the short span of time we had to do this project, and the cell service around the farm is non-existent. Therefore, we corresponded through email to answer these questions. He did not have enough time to thoroughly answer them, but I am glad I was able to communicate with him anyway.

  1. When and where were you born? January 24, 1951
  2. What was growing up in Wrightsville like? It was a hard life growing up as a row crop farmer son. We hand picked cotton, peas, and corn. We grew hogs for meat and killed/dressed them out on the farm, took the hams to local slaughter house to be cured out. We milked cows for their milk and churned own butter. No regrets taught us to be independent and provide for myself/family — always had plenty of fresh food — had chickens also.
  3. Who has owned the farm? My grand daddy John David Phillips bought abt 800 acres from Mr Tarbutton abt 1907.
  4. Who has owned the old house? John B Wright guy Wrightsville is named after had the house built mid 1800’s, I heard lumber was hauled by mule and wagon from Macon. They couldn’t make it in a day so they would spend the night on the other side of Irwinton — Macon side.
  5. What were your parents like in terms of their values? Honest hard working Christian family always attend church, we couldn’t have an excuse not to go.
  6. Did you enjoy life on the farm? It was the only life we knew, didn’t have cell phones, cable TV and all communications of today. Got to remember it was before lot of fast food, so it was a treat for us to go to town, once a week to buy groceries. We played outside cousins, neighbors till dark,when not working on farm. I guess you can say I didn’t know anything else, it was good.
  7. Does anything stand out from your childhood? I was born in the house I’m living. I broke my left arm when I was 5, I went to hang mop up on the back porch and fell off, bone was almost coming thru skin, mom jerked it back in place told me to take my right hand and hold it until we got to local doctor in Wrightsville. The doctor put a cast on it and told me to take some aspirins. Dr said it was best thing my mother did by pulling it back together- had no problems with it.
  8. What can you tell me about Jordan Minter Burns? He served in Civil was 1864, heard when war was over he had to walk home from Virginia. His shoes didn’t make it back home with him. Momma used to tell us that he always had a bag of candy near him so his family could visit him.
  9. Why did you leave Wrightsville? Was this a difficult decision? September 1969, not really didn’t want to be a farmer. I went to Macon Tech studied computer programming and worked at First National Bank — part time. Back them Vietnam War was going on and all males were eligible to be drafted in service by going to school my classification changed from 1A to 1F, which kept me out of service.
  10. What is it like living there now? Is anything different? Better roads in country, grew up on dirt road. Nothing is picked by hand all machines. More places to eat now, but lot of local stores closed. Not much opportunity for young people, no industry, prison and school system is biggest employers.
  11. When is the Herschel Walker parade? What can you tell me about it? He normally rides in Fourth of July parade, he was main speaker couple years back. He has a camp late spring at high school. He is busy but he tries to make time for the community.

The connection between the history of the community and the history of my family is undeniable. This all converges into where I am at in the present, and it blows my mind to think that I could easily be working on a farm right now and not pursuing a college education. Before the interview, it was hard for me to picture how daily life on the farm and in Wrightsville was, but my grandpa clearly explained to me how difficult this lifestyle is. I think my outlook on life would be incredibly different had I grown up as he did. This project allowed me to understand my family’s origin and how close we came to failure. Perseverance is a strong theme in my history, and it is a trait I intended to utilize. One of the greatest challenges I faced in this project was attempting to contact my grandpa, as the connectivity of the farm has remained on a lower level for decades. If I was in charge of keeping my traditions alive, I would tell stories of how genuine and happy my family has been. Overall, I’m glad I was able to put in the time and effort to better understand my family and my past.

--

--