Sziget Festival | Case study

Petra Dupuis
4 min readJan 9, 2020

--

Picture from Sziget Festival 2019 ©

Intro

Sziget Festival takes place every year in august since 1993 on an island of Budapest. It’s known as the European Woodstock.

The project here is to design two states of the 2020’s edition responsive website.

1/ the BEFORE state on desktop
( what will be displayed before the beginning of the festival)
2/ the DURING state on smartphone
( what will be displayed during the festival)

Researches

To create the website architecture, I needed to compare the last website and user expectations.

After researches and interviews, it appeared that :
Before the festival: people mostly want to buy tickets online and find information about the line-up, access, and all the basics information.

During the festival: people asked for a smartphone version which allows them not only to access the schedule of the festival but also to buy and organized tickets for food or special events.
As the festival parc is big, they wish to be able to find different areas thanks to a localization system.

Sitemaps

BEFORE state

The last edition website already offers a lot of basic and mandatory information. I choose to simplify it a bit but mostly kept the same organization.

DURING state

Here I added a gallery where users will find the photos from the festival sorted by day. If the user has an account and is connected he will access a section called “My experience” where he will find his schedule and tickets but also a live map of the festival.

Userflows

BEFORE state

The userflow shows how the user can check the program and then buy a ticket.

DURING state

The userflow shows how the user can check and locate an activity and present his digital ticket.

Moodboard

Sziget Festival is known to be the island of freedom, fun and colorful. The idea was to keep the same feelings.

Here I wanted to express :
Fun / Colorful / Warm /Friendship /Happiness / Freedom

Style tile

For the UI components, I choose to keep it simple. There is a ton of information on this website so I preferred to set a clear display and avoid visual parasites. I kept the main colors of the festival the feelings I want to convey.

Wireframes

Mid-fi DURING state

In this wireflow, we can see how the user can find general info from the menu. Then by clicking “My experience”, he can check the next event he planned, locate it and access his ticket.

Hi-fi BEFORE state

Sample of the website pages on the desktop :

Hi-fi DURING state

Wireflow of the responsive pages on a mobile :

Prototype

DURING state

And finally, here is the prototype :)

Next steps

It was really fun to work on this project and interesting to think and research about the kind of info users will need and when. I tried to make this website practical and interactive, like a tool that can follow you during all your festival experience.
For the next steps, I planned to work on the map and the localization display.
And I think I can make the event card better so I need to try other dispositions but first, of course, I need more tests to iterate well on this project.

Thanks for reading :)

--

--